Blood Magic by Tessa Gratton
(The Blood Journals)

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 1 Critic Review



This page-turning debut novel will entice fans who like their paranormal romances dark and disturbing. It's a natural next-read for fans of Stephanie Meyer, Carrie Jones, and Becca Fitzpatrick. But instead of mythical creatures, blood magic has everything to do with primal human desires like power, wealth, and immortality. Everywhere Silla Kennicott turns she sees blood. She can't stop thinking about her parents alleged murder-suicide. She is consumed by a book filled with spells that arrives mysteriously in the mail. The spells share one common ingredient: blood, and Silla is more than willing to cast a few. What's a little spilled blood if she can uncover the truth? And then there's Nick—the new guy at school who makes her pulse race. He has a few secrets of his own and is all too familiar with the lure of blood magic. Drawn together by a combination of fate and chemistry, Silla and Nick must find out who else in their small Missouri town knows their secret and will do anything to take the book and magic from Silla.

From the Hardcover edition.

About Tessa Gratton

See more books from this Author
TESSA GRATTON has wanted to be a paleontologist or a wizard since she was seven. She was too impatient to hunt dinosaurs, but is still searching for someone to teach her magic. After traveling the world with her military family, she acquired a BA (and the important parts of an MA) in Gender Studies, and then settled down in Kansas with her partner, her cats, and her mutant dog.
Published May 24, 2011 by Random House Books for Young Readers. 418 pages
Genres: Romance, Science Fiction & Fantasy, Horror, Young Adult, Literature & Fiction. Fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for Blood Magic

Book Divas

She also parallels the modern part of the story with Josephine Darly’s, who is another girl who learns magic but falls to darkness.

| Read Full Review of Blood Magic (The Blood Journals)

Reader Rating for Blood Magic

An aggregated and normalized score based on 110 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes

Rate this book!

Add Review