Blood of the Four by Christopher Golden

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 1 Critic Review

The worldbuilding is fairly solid even if it would’ve been nice to understand more about how the priests wielded magic without it carving out their insides. A nicely self-contained and kinetic excursion into political fantasy.
-Kirkus

Synopsis

The acclaimed authors of The Map of Moments and The Secret Journeys of Jack London join creative forces once more in this epic, standalone novel—an exciting dark fantasy of gods and mortals, fools and heroes, saviors and destroyers with a brilliant beam of hope at its core--that should more than appeal to readers of N.K. Jemisin and Brandon Sanderson.

In the great kingdom of Quandis, everyone is a slave. Some are slaves to the gods. Most are slaves to everyone else.

Blessed by the gods with lives of comfort and splendor, the royal elite routinely perform their duties, yet some chafe at their role. A young woman of stunning ambition, Princess Phela refuses to allow a few obstacles—including her mother the queen and her brother, the heir apparent—stand in the way of claiming ultimate power and glory for herself.

Far below the royals are the Bajuman. Poor and oppressed, members of this wretched caste have but two paths out of servitude: the priesthood . . . or death.

Because magic has been kept at bay in Quandis, royals and Bajuman have lived together in an uneasy peace for centuries. But Princess Phela’s desire for power will disrupt the realm’s order, setting into motion a series of events that will end with her becoming a goddess in her own right . . . or ultimately destroying Quandis and all its inhabitants.

 

About Christopher Golden

See more books from this Author
Christopher Golden is the Bram Stoker Award-winning, New York Times-bestselling author of such novels as The Myth Hunters, Wildwood Road, and Strangewood. He has also teamed with Hellboy creator Mike Mignola on Baltimore, a WWI-era vampire novel, He has written books for teens and young adults, including Soulless and the thriller series Body of Evidence, honored by the New York Public Library and chosen as one of YALSA's Best Books for Young Readers. The first book in the Secret Journeys of Jack London, The Wild, has been optioned for film by Fox 2000. Christopher lives with his family in Massachusetts. Find out more at www.christophergolden.com. Tim Lebbon is the author of nearly thirty books for adults, including The Island and, with Chris Golden, the acclaimed Hidden Cities series. He is the winner of numerous British Fantasy Awards and a Bram Stoker Award. Of his writing, the New York Times Book Review says, "Tim Lebbon displays the sort of cool irony and uncanny mood-making that drive the best Twilight Zone stories." He lives in the English countryside with his wife and children. You can visit him online at www.timlebbon.net.
 
Published March 6, 2018 by Harper Voyager. 480 pages
Genres: Science Fiction & Fantasy, Horror, Action & Adventure, Literature & Fiction. Fiction
Add Critic Review

Critic reviews for Blood of the Four
All: 1 | Positive: 1 | Negative: 0

Kirkus

Above average
on Feb 20 2018

The worldbuilding is fairly solid even if it would’ve been nice to understand more about how the priests wielded magic without it carving out their insides. A nicely self-contained and kinetic excursion into political fantasy.

Read Full Review of Blood of the Four | See more reviews from Kirkus
×