Body Toxic by Susanne Antonetta
An Environmental Memoir

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 5 Critic Reviews

unrated

Synopsis

For readers of A Civil Action and Silent Spring, a harrowing story of a family, a body, and a place: the Pine Barrens of southern New Jersey, one of the most environmentally contaminated places in the country. The author's family-immigrants from Italy on one side and Barbados on the other-tried to realize the American dream by building a summer escape in the boglands of New Jersey where the rural and industrial collide. They picked gooseberries along the chain-link fence of Oyster Creek Nuclear Power Plant while it released more radiation than Three Mile Island. They rowed dinghies along creeks contaminated with drums of toxic waste-waste dumped illegally by various chemical companies. One by one, they discovered their own infertility, while throughout the area parents were being asked to donate their children's baby teeth to be tested for traces of radiation. Body Toxic merges the personal and familial with the historical, political, and environmental in a way that creates a new genre: environmental memoir, fusing fact and meditation, the intensely intimate and the starkly political. Brave, harrowing, beautifully written, Antonetta's memoir explores an American family in the midst of the wreckage of the American dream.
 

About Susanne Antonetta

See more books from this Author
Susanne Antonetta is the author of the award-winning memoir "Body Toxic," as well as five collections of poetry.
 
Published May 1, 2001 by Counterpoint Press. 256 pages
Genres: Biographies & Memoirs, Nature & Wildlife, Professional & Technical, Science & Math, Health, Fitness & Dieting. Non-fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for Body Toxic

Publishers Weekly

See more reviews from this publication

For instance, Antonetta skillfully juxtaposes a description of her first period with a GE employee's statement that nuclear plants shipping radioactive materials lined the boxes with, of all things, sanitary pads: " 'What keeps a nuclear plant running is lots of Kotex, lots of masking tape, and l...

| Read Full Review of Body Toxic: An Environmental ...

Book Reporter

It's not a funny book, BODY TOXIC, but there are moments where the elemental unforgiving of the horrors almost makes you laugh for joy that Antonetta's book is not your own story.

Jan 21 2011 | Read Full Review of Body Toxic: An Environmental ...

Spirituality & Practice

Reading the details of her story, we find ourselves saying a prayer for all those now living in what environmentalists call "sacrifice communities" — generally poor and rural areas chosen to house toxic wastes and nuclear power plants.

| Read Full Review of Body Toxic: An Environmental ...

Project MUSE

The Body Toxic: An Environmental Memoir by Suzanne Antonetta.

| Read Full Review of Body Toxic: An Environmental ...

Project MUSE

The Body Toxic: An Environmental Memoir by Suzanne Antonetta.

| Read Full Review of Body Toxic: An Environmental ...

Reader Rating for Body Toxic
75%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 13 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review