Born with Wings by Daisy Khan
The Spiritual Journey of a Modern Muslim Woman

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 1 Critic Review

The loosely organized text is interspersed with illustrative vignettes out of chronological sequence that further disrupt the flow of the narrative. A thorough memoir that would have benefited from deeper insights into how the author’s faith carried her through crises...
-Kirkus

Synopsis

The dramatic, spiritual memoir of a prominent Muslim woman working to empower women and girls across the world—for readers of Malala Yousafzai and Azar Nafisi.

Raised in a progressive Muslim family in the shadows of the Himalayan mountains, where she attended a Catholic girls’ school, Daisy experienced culture shock when her family sent her to the States to attend high school in a mostly Jewish Long Island suburb. Ambitious and talented, she quickly climbed the corporate ladder after college as an architectural designer in New York City. Though she loved the freedom that came with being a career woman, she felt that something was missing from her life. One day a friend suggested that she visit a Sufi mosque in Tribeca. To her surprise, she discovered a home there, eventually marrying the mosque’s imam, Feisal Abdul Rauf, and finding herself, as his wife, at the center of a community in which women turned to her for advice. Guided by her faith, she embraced her role as a women’s advocate and has devised innovative ways to help end child marriage, fight against genital mutilation, and, most recently, educate young Muslims to resist the false promises of ISIS recruiters.

Born with Wings is a powerful, moving, and eye-opening account of Daisy Khan’s inspiring journey—of her self-actualization and her success in opening doors for other Muslim women and building bridges between cultures. It powerfully demonstrates what one woman can do—with faith, love, and resilience.

Praise for Born with Wings

“A heartfelt, deeply personal, and touching account of a Muslim woman’s spiritual journey and her work to empower women and girls around the globe.”—Her Majesty Queen Noor

“Daisy Khan is one of the most prominent Muslim voices in America and an icon of female empowerment across the globe. This beautiful story of her spiritual journey is an inspiration to anyone who seeks to change the world.”—Reza Aslan, author of No god but God and Zealot

“At a time when news headlines cast Muslim societies as war-torn or rigidly traditional, Daisy Khan offers a subtler, and ultimately more optimistic, vision. Through her own story, and the stories of other change-makers, Khan reminds us how Muslim women are asserting their rights while holding fast to their faith.”—Carla Power, author of If the Oceans Were Ink

“A lyrical, poignant, emboldening, and, most of all, deeply important book.”—Bruce Feiler, author of Abraham and Walking the Bible
 

About Daisy Khan

See more books from this Author
 
Published April 24, 2018 by Spiegel & Grau. 368 pages
Genres: Biographies & Memoirs, Religion & Spirituality. Non-fiction
Add Critic Review

Critic reviews for Born with Wings
All: 1 | Positive: 0 | Negative: 1

Kirkus

Below average
on Feb 20 2018

The loosely organized text is interspersed with illustrative vignettes out of chronological sequence that further disrupt the flow of the narrative. A thorough memoir that would have benefited from deeper insights into how the author’s faith carried her through crises...

Read Full Review of Born with Wings: The Spiritua... | See more reviews from Kirkus

Reader Rating for Born with Wings
92%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 22 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×