Bourbon Island 1730 by Lewis Trondheim

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 2 Critic Reviews

unrated

Synopsis

It is 1730 when Raphael Pommeroy arrives in the West Indies with his ornithology professor.  They’re supposed to be in search of the almost-extinct dodo . . . but Raphael is quickly entranced with the piratical inhabitants of the island, becoming obsessed with their vision of a world where all people are free and equal, regardless of their skin color.  Drama unfolds on Bourbon Island as all the inhabitants race to find the treasure secretly cached on their island – and reveal their inner selves in doing so. 

 

An epic adventure in the tradition of Watership Down, Bourbon Island 1730 is a unique historical drama featuring animal characters, fully imagined and realized by Lewis Trondheim and Appollo in pitch-perfect words and inventive pictures.

 

About Lewis Trondheim

See more books from this Author
A phenomenally prolific and well-regarded artist and writer, Lewis Trondheim has published more than 35 books in the last ten years, including A.L.I.E.E.E.N. and TINY TYRANT. He is one of the leading figures in French comics, and is a co-founder of the alternative publishing house L'Association. Hilarious, caustic, and original, his multifarious books have earned him international renown.   Olivier Appollodorus, known as Appollo, is a French graphic novel creator.  Along with founding a number of comics industry journals, he has worked on projects with some of the most prestigious French creators. 
 
Published October 28, 2008 by First Second. 288 pages
Genres: History, Comics & Graphic Novels, Science Fiction & Fantasy, Children's Books, Literature & Fiction. Fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for Bourbon Island 1730

Kirkus Reviews

See more reviews from this publication

Young Raphael arrives on the island with ornithologist Chevalier Despentes in hopes of finding the Bourbon Island dodo, despite its rumored extinction.

| Read Full Review of Bourbon Island 1730

Graphic Novel Reporter

Surely not the readers of Bourbon Island 1730, which comes to us courtesy of two French comics creators.

| Read Full Review of Bourbon Island 1730

Reader Rating for Bourbon Island 1730
85%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 8 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review