Boy Alone by Karl Taro Greenfeld
A Brother's Memoir

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 3 Critic Reviews

unrated

Synopsis

“Extraordinary… Greenfeld details what it is like to grow up next to a ‘beautiful’ boy with whom he can never play and never connect and who never returns his love, but who, nonetheless, is the most important fact of his life.”
— Michael Thompson, Ph.D., co-author of Raising Cain

“Beautiful and powerful …. A masterpiece of literature and memory.”
— Walter Isaacson, author of Einstein: His Life and Universe

“Gripping.”
Washington Post

A WASHINGTON POST BOOK WORLD BEST BOOK OF THE YEAR

In this literary tour de force, Karl Taro Greenfield, the acclaimed journalist and author of China Syndrome, tells the story of his life growing up with his brother, chronicling the hopes, dreams, and realities of life with an autistic sibling. Fans of Joan Didion’s The Year of Magical Thinking and David Sheff’s Beautiful Boy will find many poignant, moving moments in Boy Alone.

 

About Karl Taro Greenfeld

See more books from this Author
Karl Taro Greenfeld is the author of five previous books, including the much-acclaimed memoir Boy Alone; NowTrends; China Syndrome; Standard Deviations; and Speed Tribes. Greenfeld's fiction has appeared in such renowned publications as The Paris Review, Best American Short Stories, American Short Fiction, The PEN/O Henry Prize Stories, The Missouri Review, One Story, Commentary, The Southern Review, and The Sun. A veteran editor and writer for The Nation, TIME, and Sports Illustrated, Karl has also been a frequent contributor to Bloomberg Businessweek, The New York Times, GQ, Vogue, Conde Nast Traveler, Playboy, Men's Journal, The Washington Post, Outside, Wired, Details, and Salon. Born in Kobe, Japan, Karl has lived in Paris, Hong Kong, Tokyo and TRIBECA. Visit his website at www.karltarogreenfeld.com
 
Published May 5, 2009 by HarperCollins e-books. 370 pages
Genres: Biographies & Memoirs, Health, Fitness & Dieting. Non-fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for Boy Alone

The New York Times

See more reviews from this publication

A memoir of the pain and unwanted fame of growing up as the brother of “the most famous autistic child in America.”

Jun 07 2009 | Read Full Review of Boy Alone: A Brother's Memoir

Oregon Live

Already the subject of three memoirs in the 1970s and '80s by his father, screenwriter Josh Greenfeld, Noah had every possible familial advantage a profoundly autistic boy could have: loving parents, treatment by leading practitioners, best-selling family memoirs -- even a "60 Minutes" segment fi...

Jun 26 2009 | Read Full Review of Boy Alone: A Brother's Memoir

Bookmarks Magazine

"Boy Alone" is an examination of two lives - Karl's and Noah's - and an investigation into what 'a life' really means.

Jun 08 2009 | Read Full Review of Boy Alone: A Brother's Memoir

Reader Rating for Boy Alone
81%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 37 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×