Brain Jack by Brian Falkner

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 2 Critic Reviews

unrated

Synopsis

Another terrifying sci-fi page-turner from the author of The Tomorrow Code!

Las Vegas is gone—destroyed in a terrorist attack. Black Hawk helicopters patrol the skies over New York City. And immersive online gaming is the most dangerous street drug around. In this dystopic near-future, technology has leapt forward once again, and neuro-headsets have replaced computer keyboards. Just slip on a headset, and it’s the Internet at the speed of thought.

For teen hacker Sam Wilson, a headset is a must. But as he becomes familiar with the new technology, he has a terrifying realization. If anything on his computer is vulnerable to a hack, what happens when his mind is linked to the system? Could consciousness itself be hijacked? Before he realizes what’s happened, Sam’s incursion against the world’s largest telecommunications company leads him to the heart of the nation’s cyberdefense network and brings him face to face with a terrifying and unforeseen threat.

Brian Falkner, author of The Tomorrow Code, has created an action-packed and thought-provoking science fiction adventure in which a brilliant young computer hacker fights to prevent the human race from being deleted.

Fans of Cory Doctorow’s Little Brother and M. T. Anderson’s Feed will love this high-octane techno thriller.


From the Hardcover edition.
 

About Brian Falkner

See more books from this Author
A native New Zealander, BRIAN FALKNER now lives on the other side of the Tasman Sea, in Australia. To research the settings for The Assault, he camped in the Australian Outback, sleeping under the stars and visiting Uluru. Brian is also the author of The Tomorrow Code, Brain Jack, and The Project. Find him online at brianfalkner.com.
 
Published September 28, 2010 by Random House Books for Young Readers. 370 pages
Genres: Science Fiction & Fantasy, Young Adult, Action & Adventure, Children's Books, Literature & Fiction. Fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for Brain Jack

Kirkus Reviews

See more reviews from this publication

Sam Wilson isn't out of high school yet, but he's on his way to becoming the most wanted hacker in the world--first for crashing the international computer grid (well, he didn't mean to), then for subverting the White House security system (OK, that was on purpose).

Aug 01 2010 | Read Full Review of Brain Jack

Youth Services Book Review

“Brain Jack” is set in a futuristic America where computer users are hooked on neuro headsets, allowing users to connect to the internet with just their brains – no keyboard needed.

Oct 04 2010 | Read Full Review of Brain Jack

Reader Rating for Brain Jack
88%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 84 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×