Breaking Night by Liz Murray
A Memoir of Forgiveness, Survival, and My Journey from Homeless to Harvard

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 17 Critic Reviews

unrated

Synopsis

In the vein of The Glass Castle, Breaking Night is the stunning memoir of a young woman who at age fifteen was living on the streets, and who eventually made it into Harvard.

Liz Murray was born to loving but drug-addicted parents in the Bronx. In school she was taunted for her dirty clothing and lice-infested hair, eventually skipping so many classes that she was put into a girls' home. At age fifteen, Liz found herself on the streets when her family finally unraveled. She learned to scrape by, foraging for food and riding subways all night to have a warm place to sleep.

When Liz's mother died of AIDS, she decided to take control of her own destiny and go back to high school, often completing her assignments in the hallways and subway stations where she slept. Liz squeezed four years of high school into two, while homeless; won a New York Times scholarship; and made it into the Ivy League. Breaking Night is an unforgettable and beautifully written story of one young woman's indomitable spirit to survive and prevail, against all odds.
 

About Liz Murray

See more books from this Author
LIZ MURRAY was left homeless at age 15 after her mother's death from AIDS. She fended for herself on the streets, eventually returning to high school. She was accepted into Harvard, where she attended college classes for three years before taking time off to help her father, who died of AIDS. She returned to college, and is now taking graduate courses at Harvard. Liz gives speaking engagements around the country. A movie about her life, Homeless to Harvard, was made by Lifetime in 2003, and airs frequently.
 
Published September 7, 2010 by Hachette Books. 352 pages
Genres: Biographies & Memoirs, Political & Social Sciences, Education & Reference, Parenting & Relationships. Non-fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for Breaking Night

Kirkus Reviews

See more reviews from this publication

The admirable story of a teen who overcame homelessness through sheer grit and the kindness of friends.

Aug 24 2010 | Read Full Review of Breaking Night: A Memoir of F...

Publishers Weekly

See more reviews from this publication

From runaway to Harvard student, Murray tells an engaging, powerfully motivational story about turning her life around after growing up the neglected child of drug addicts. When Murray was born in 198

Aug 09 2010 | Read Full Review of Breaking Night: A Memoir of F...

The New York Times

See more reviews from this publication

Liz Murray grew up in poverty with drug-addicted parents but survived without resentment and landed a place at Harvard.

Sep 08 2010 | Read Full Review of Breaking Night: A Memoir of F...

The Guardian

See more reviews from this publication

Don't tell me Liz Murray's story – or anyone else's – is that simple.

Jan 30 2011 | Read Full Review of Breaking Night: A Memoir of F...

Publishers Weekly

See more reviews from this publication

From runaway to Harvard student, Murray tells an engaging, powerfully motivational story about turning her life around after growing up the neglected child of drug addicts.

Aug 09 2010 | Read Full Review of Breaking Night: A Memoir of F...

Examiner

After finally being released and made to live with her mother and new boyfriend, Liz was forced to go to school for the first time.

Jan 09 2012 | Read Full Review of Breaking Night: A Memoir of F...

Book Reporter

On his graduate student clientele alone, Daddy could use phony prescriptions to unload hundreds of these pills per week, earning Ma and Daddy thousands of dollars every month.

Sep 15 2015 | Read Full Review of Breaking Night: A Memoir of F...

Book Reporter

Her circumstances haven’t changed --- she’s still homeless, broke and basically parentless --- but she makes a crucial decision: to apply to high school following years of truancy.

Sep 07 2010 | Read Full Review of Breaking Night: A Memoir of F...

Booklist Online

But there’s good news—by subscribing today, you will receive 22 issues of Booklist magazine, 4 issues of Book Links, and single-login access to Booklist Online and over 170,000 reviews.

Feb 01 2013 | Read Full Review of Breaking Night: A Memoir of F...

BookPage

Breaking Night allows Murray to tell her own story, beginning in early childhood, and it’s a truly harrowing tale.

Sep 15 2015 | Read Full Review of Breaking Night: A Memoir of F...

Teen Reads

Her circumstances haven’t changed --- she’s still homeless, broke and basically parentless --- but she makes a crucial decision: to apply to high school following years of truancy.

Sep 07 2010 | Read Full Review of Breaking Night: A Memoir of F...

Teen Reads

At age 15, Liz found herself on the streets when her family finally unraveled.

Sep 07 2010 | Read Full Review of Breaking Night: A Memoir of F...

Deseret News

"Breaking Night" by Liz Murray has recently been released in paperback.

Jun 11 2011 | Read Full Review of Breaking Night: A Memoir of F...

About.com Bestsellers

this left me disaffected near the endDescription'Breaking Night' by Liz Murray was published in September 2010Publisher: Hyperion352 pagesGuide Review - 'Breaking Night' by Liz Murray - Book ReviewLiz spent her childhood cold and filthy, her stomach often burning from hunger, watching her parents...

| Read Full Review of Breaking Night: A Memoir of F...

Independent.ie

Few could claim an upbringing as abysmal as that of Liz Murray, author of Breaking Night.

Feb 20 2011 | Read Full Review of Breaking Night: A Memoir of F...

Story Circle Book Reviews

Whether you've had a bad year or a bad life, Liz Murray's Breaking Night: A Memoir of Forgiveness, Survival, and My Journey from Homeless to Harvard will put your problems in perspective.

Nov 09 2010 | Read Full Review of Breaking Night: A Memoir of F...

Artswrap

Written with humour and charm, Breaking 80 is a book for those who recognise all too well the pleasure of a sweetly struck seven iron to within a few feet of the pin, followed by the agonizing fury of a three-putt back and forth across the cup.

| Read Full Review of Breaking Night: A Memoir of F...

Reader Rating for Breaking Night
92%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 751 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×