Breathe by Sarah Crossan

61%

11 Critic Reviews

But while the story is well-executed, with characters readers will grow to care about, its reliance on well-worn themes of governmental corruption and class warfare may make it difficult to stand out in a crowded genre.
-Publishers Weekly

Synopsis

The world has no air. If you want to survive, you pay to breathe. But what if you can't? And what if you think everything could be different? Three teens will leave everything they know behind in Sarah Crossan's gripping and original dystopian teen novel of danger, longing, and glimmering hope that will appeal to fans of Patrick Ness and Veronica Roth.

National Book Award Finalist Kathleen Duey called Breathe "An amazing story! Sit down. Inhale. Now, while you still can." Ever since the Switch, when the oxygen levels plummeted and most of humanity died, the survivors have been protected in glass domes full of manufactured air. Protected . . . or trapped? Or controlled? Alina's a revolutionary who believes we can save the environment. Quinn's a Premium who's never had to worry about having enough air. His best friend, Bea, is an Auxiliary who's never worried about anything but having enough air. When the three cross paths, they will change everything. Sarah Crossan's thrilling and provocative novel is about passion, about yearning for something better, and about breaking free for the very first time. The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books proclaims it an "action-packed dystopian series opener to watch out for."

 

About Sarah Crossan

See more books from this Author
Sarah Crossan is a former high school English and creative writing teacher. She is the author of Breathe, and she lives with her family in England.
 
Published October 2, 2012 by Greenwillow Books. 389 pages
Genres: Romance, Young Adult, Science Fiction & Fantasy, Action & Adventure, Literature & Fiction. Fiction
Bookmark Counts:
1
Want to Read
Add Critic Review

Critic reviews for Breathe
All: 11 | Positive: 7 | Negative: 4

Kirkus

Above average
on Aug 08 2012

The well-realized, ruined world takes center stage throughout, however, as the author leaves room for just a bit of hope and a possible sequel. A solid post-apocalyptic tale.

Read Full Review of Breathe | See more reviews from Kirkus

Publishers Weekly

Above average
on Oct 08 2012

But while the story is well-executed, with characters readers will grow to care about, its reliance on well-worn themes of governmental corruption and class warfare may make it difficult to stand out in a crowded genre.

Read Full Review of Breathe | See more reviews from Publishers Weekly

The Bookbag

Above average
on Oct 03 2012

Breathe has a good, tight structure, plenty of action and some romance. It's a breeze to read and its pace keeps you wanting to turn the pages. Its characters are interesting, too, and they all develop over the course of the story.

Read Full Review of Breathe

City Book Review

Above average
on Oct 17 2012

This book was fun to read, although the characters at time seemed weak and pusillanimous. I liked their multiple facets; it made them more believable. The plot was an interesting and unique premise, and flowed quickly and smoothly.

Read Full Review of Breathe

Common Sense Media

Above average
on Oct 02 2012

But it never quite ignites as a first-rate adventure story. Perhaps it's that the constant threat of suffocation isn't sufficiently compelling or that the point of view is split among three characters, none of whom truly shines as a protagonist.

Read Full Review of Breathe

We Love This Book

Above average
on Oct 11 2012

This is an exciting adventure that raises several issues, but it is the adventure that is Breathe’s the main driving force.

Read Full Review of Breathe

Fantasy Literature

Below average
on Dec 31 2012

Breathe ends with some resolution but with a clear path forward. I, however, will not be picking up book two. For me, Breathe failed across the board: character, story, setting, style. I recommend passing.

Read Full Review of Breathe

Kidz World

Above average
on Nov 16 2012

The story is fast-paced, and written in such a way that we get to see through three different character’s viewpoints – Quinn’s, Bea’s and Alina’s.

Read Full Review of Breathe

Palatine Public Library

Above average
on Dec 11 2012

I loved the realistic ideas to this book. It's definitely for apocalypse and science fiction fans.

Read Full Review of Breathe

Katy Times

Below average
on Sep 20 2012

I'm normally a HUGE fan of just about any dystopian, and I was really looking forward to this one, but it ended up really disappointing me because 1) the plot did not stand out, 2) I could not stand the characters and 3) too many inconsistencies.

Read Full Review of Breathe

The Overflowing Library

Above average
on Oct 17 2012

The plotline and ideas behind the book were fascinating. The world is one where oxygen is in short supply after the collapse of society as we know it.

Read Full Review of Breathe

Reader Rating for Breathe
72%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 198 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review

Reader reviews & activity

Linz Walters

Linz Walters 29 Apr 2014

Added the book to want to read list

×