Breathmoss and Other Exhalations by Ian R. MacLeod

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews


This collection of literary short fiction combines fantasy, science fiction, and horror in vivid settings, peopled with ordinary humans with normal relationships, and the interaction of the mundane with the fantastic. In “Breathmoss,” a young girl must cope with the relationship with her family, love, and a community set in rigid custom, where males are a rarity. In “Verglas,” a man must decide to leave his humanity by going native on an ice world or abandon his family. The events leading to the formation of the current government, the repression of Jews and homosexuals, and the horrors of being a closet homosexual in such a regime are examined in “The Summer Isles.” Other stories encompass a scientist who searches for extraterrestrial intelligence; a rigid, aged man finding magic by a pool; and an 18-year-old girl who gains the reputation of being a death flower during WWII.

About Ian R. MacLeod

See more books from this Author
Ian R. MacLeod is the author of The Great Wheel, The Light Ages, and Voyages by Starlight. His work has been nominated for the Nebula and Hugo awards and has won the World Fantasy Award, Locus Award, Sidewise Award, and Asimov’s Reader’s Poll.
Published June 1, 2004 by Golden Gryphon Press. 300 pages
Genres: Science Fiction & Fantasy, Literature & Fiction. Fiction

Rate this book!

Add Review