Breeder - A Novel of Unborn Horror by Douglas Clegg

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See Reader Rating

Synopsis

Once known as the Screaming House, it has a history of black magic, voodoo--and murder. What a perfect home for a nice young couple to start a family... New York Times bestselling author Douglas Clegg delivers a chilling gothic vision of Washington, D.C. where a new supernatural horror is born within a house haunted by diabolical ritual and a terrifying legacy of dark forces.

"A white-knuckle read from beginning to end -- Clegg delivers!" - John Saul.
"The tension seldom flags as this tale builds to a grisly, suspense-filled climax. As in Goat Dance, his first book, Clegg pulls out the stops of terror...a chilling story." -- Publisher's Weekly.

The brownstone was a wedding gift. Rachel Adair thought Draper House in Washington, D.C, would be the perfect place to start over with her husband, Hugh. But as soon they move into the old townhouse, the nightmares begin: horrific images of the child Rachel lost, the dark secrets of Hugh's father, visions of blood-curdling rituals . . . and the scraping sound of an even greater terror lurking within the shadows.

For fans of Stephen King, Peter Straub and James Herbert.

About the Author
Douglas Clegg wrote Breeder in the house in which it was set in Washington, D.C. He currently lives on the coast of New England and is working on his next novel.

Look for other books by Douglas Clegg
The Children’s Hour
Goat Dance
Purity
Dark of the Eye
The Words
Wild Things
Nightmare House
Bad Karma
Red Angel
Night Cage
Mischief
The Infinite
The Abandoned
The Necromancer
Isis
The Hour Before Dark
You Come When I Call You
Naomi
The Nightmare Chronicles
The Machinery of Night
Breeder
The Attraction

Praise for Douglas Clegg's Fiction
"Douglas Clegg knows exactly what scares us, and he knows just how to twist those fears into hair-raising chills..." - Tess Gerritsen, New York Times bestselling author of the Rizzoli & Isles series.

"Clegg is the best horror writer of the post-Stephen King generation."
— Bentley Little, author of The Policy

"Clegg delivers!"
— John Saul, bestselling author of Faces of Fear and The Devil's Labyrinth.

"A master of the genre. Absolutely thrilling! Douglas Clegg is the future of dark fantasy."
— Sherrilyn Kenyon
New York Times bestselling author of the Dark-Hunters.

"Douglas Clegg has become the new star in horror fiction."
— Peter Straub
author of Lost Boy, Lost Girl and the New York Times Bestseller Black House (with Stephen King)

"Clegg is one of the best!"
— Richard Laymon

"Douglas Clegg is a weaver of nightmares!"
— Robert R. McCammon
author of The Queen of Bedlam and Speaks The Nightbird.

For fans of Stephen King, Dean Koontz and Bentley Little.

Tags: horror, thriller, suspense, supernatural, paranormal, Kindle, scary, Clegg, horror novel, horror books, horror fiction, occult, haunting, haunted house, Washington D.C., gothic, murder, ghosts, voodoo,birth,townhouse,crime, gore,pulp fiction
 

About Douglas Clegg

See more books from this Author
Denis Johnson is the author of eight novels, one novella, one book of short stories, three collections of poetry, two collections of plays, and one book of reportage. His novel Tree of Smoke won the 2007 National Book Award.
 
Published May 14, 2012 by Alkemara Press. 320 pages
Genres: Mystery, Thriller & Suspense, Horror, Literature & Fiction, Science Fiction & Fantasy, War, Religion & Spirituality. Fiction

Reader Rating for Breeder - A Novel of Unborn Horror
65%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 19 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×