Broken Machines by Michael I. Leahey
(J.J. Donovan)

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 1 Critic Review

unrated

Synopsis

James Joseph Donovan stares out his own window, watching as the rain soaks Manhattan and puts a damper on his thirty-ninth birthday. J.J. Donovan is a private consultant - an expert people turn to when they've run out of options. Before the day is out, Janet Fein, a social worker friend, will ask Donovan to help a little boy named Clifford Brice.

Clifford's mother Ruby - a prostitute and a heroin addict - has been brutally murdered. The police have a suspect in custody, but Janet and Clifford don't think it's the right man. The police don't seem to care. Janet wants Donovan and his eccentric partner, Doctor Boris Koulomzin, to find out the truth.
Neither man can abandon the bright young boy. As they are formulating a plan, there is a second murder... and an attempt on Clifford himself. Donovan finds himself going undercover at a dank manufacturing plant in Brooklyn, where the rats, the criminals, and the immigrant laborers all struggle to make ends meet. It is a place where the people, like the machines, are broken. In this place, there is little room for repair or redemption, but Donovan pushes on. In the process, he and Boris expose a fraud, catch a murderer, and manage to blow up the better part of a city block.

Broken Machines is a gritty mystery in the tradition of Robert Parker and Elmore Leonard.

 

About Michael I. Leahey

See more books from this Author
Michael I. Leahey is the director of the Office of Clinical Trials at Columbia University/New York -Presbyterian Hospital, where he facilitates research involving new drugs and devices. He lives with his wife and two children in Westchester.
 
Published April 1, 2010 by Minotaur Books. 309 pages
Genres: Mystery, Thriller & Suspense, Literature & Fiction. Fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for Broken Machines

Book Reporter

Donovan gets himself hired into the business under the pretense of doing some investigative work for Stanley Greenberg, the less-than scrupulous co-owner of National Manufacturing and a businessman who could probably stand some investigation himself.

Oct 13 2000 | Read Full Review of Broken Machines (J.J. Donovan)

Reader Rating for Broken Machines
85%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 19 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×