Bronte Sisters Classic Library by CharlotteBrontë

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews


The Brontes were a nineteenth-century literary family associated with the village of Haworth in the West Riding of Yorkshire, England. The sisters, Charlotte (born 21 April 1816), Emily (born 30 July 1818), and Anne (born 17 January 1820), are well known as poets and novelists. They originally published their poems and novels under masculine pseudonyms, following the custom of the times practised by female writers. Their stories immediately attracted attention, although not always the best, for their passion and originality. Charlotte's Jane Eyre was the first to know success, while Emily's Wuthering Heights, Anne's The Tenant of Wildfell Hall and other works were later to be accepted as masterpieces of literature.

About CharlotteBrontë

See more books from this Author
Published October 1, 1994 by Chancellor Press. 880 pages
Genres: Literature & Fiction. Fiction