Brothers Unite by Justin LaRocca Hansen
(Secondhand Heroes)

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 1 Critic Review

The panels are rendered in a watercolor palette that somehow manages to look both vibrant and curiously washed-out all at once and adds to the diluted feel of the novel. Cardboard and convoluted.
-Kirkus

Synopsis

Perfect for fans of Amulet, Sidekicks, and Zita the Spacegirl, this graphic novel series debut introduces Stretch and Brella, a pair of ordinary brothers whose extraordinary yard sale discovery turns them into superheroes

Tuck and Hudson are just two average suburban brothers—until their mother buys them a scarf and an umbrella at a yard sale. Quickly, the brothers realize that these ordinary-looking objects are full of magic, and that, with the help of their squirrel sidekick, they can use that magic to fight evil. As the boys move from fighting their neighborhood nemesis to facing bigger foes, they become Stretch and Brella, the unstoppable brother superhero duo. Soon, Stretch and Brella find themselves in another realm, where they take on enormous dragons and an evil knight in an incredible graphic novel adventure.
 

About Justin LaRocca Hansen

See more books from this Author
Justin LaRocca Hansen was raised in a small town in Massachusetts, spending his summers in Cape Cod. He has loved comics, drawing, and watercolor since he was very young, and his childhood adventures continue to inspire his storytelling today. After receiving his artistic and undergraduate training at the Ringling College of Art and Design in Florida, Justin began teaching in school in Manhattan, the Bronx, and Massachusetts. He is the author/illustrator of Monster Hunter and currently resides in Brooklyn, New York.

Author Residence: Brooklyn, NY

Author Hometown: Millis, MA Author Image 1
 
Published July 5, 2016 by Dial Books. 160 pages
Genres: Comics & Graphic Novels, Science Fiction & Fantasy, Action & Adventure, Children's Books, Literature & Fiction. Fiction
Add Critic Review

Critic reviews for Brothers Unite
All: 1 | Positive: 0 | Negative: 1

Kirkus

Below average
on Apr 13 2016

The panels are rendered in a watercolor palette that somehow manages to look both vibrant and curiously washed-out all at once and adds to the diluted feel of the novel. Cardboard and convoluted.

Read Full Review of Brothers Unite (Secondhand He... | See more reviews from Kirkus

Reader Rating for Brothers Unite
100%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 15 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×