Bruiser by Neal Shusterman

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 4 Critic Reviews



New York Times bestselling author Neal Shusterman delivers a suspenseful and thrilling novel that's perfect for fans of Unwind and UnWholly.

Tennyson is not surprised, really, when his family begins to fall apart, or when his twin sister, Brontë, starts dating the misunderstood bully, Brewster (or The Bruiser, as the entire high school calls him). Tennyson is determined to get to the bottom of The Bruiser's reputation, even if it means gearing up for a fight. Brontë, on the other hand, thinks there's something special underneath that tough exterior. And she's right…but neither she nor Tennyson is prepared for the truth of what lies below the surface. Told through Tennyson, Brontë, and Bruiser's points of view, this dark, twisting novel explores friendship, family, and the sacrifices we make for the people we love.

Bruiser was named to the Texas Lone Star Reading List, among many other state lists, and was selected as a Book Page Top Ten Book of the Year, a Bank Street College of Education Best Book of the Year, and a Cooperative Children's Book Center Choice.

Supports the Common Core State Standards


About Neal Shusterman

See more books from this Author
Neal Shusterman, New York Times bestselling author, has written more than thirty award-winning books for children, teens, and adults, including Full Tilt, The Skinjacker Trilogy (Everlost, Everwild, and Everfound), Unwind, UnWholly, Bruiser, and The Schwa Was Here, which won the Boston Globe-Horn Book Award for fiction. Several of his books are now in development as feature films. Neal lives in Southern California when he’s not travelling the globe, and can be found online at
Published June 17, 2010 by HarperTeen. 340 pages
Genres: Young Adult, Literature & Fiction, Science Fiction & Fantasy. Fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for Bruiser

Kirkus Reviews

See more reviews from this publication

Told in four voices—Tennyson and Brontë, Brew and his younger brother, Cody—this is a wrenching but ultimately redemptive look at how pain defines us and how love, whether familial, romantic or friendly, demands sacrifice and brings gifts of its own.

| Read Full Review of Bruiser

Teen Reads

As she spends more time with Brewster, though, she begins to learn exactly why he is referred to as “the Bruiser,” and the truth starts to haunt her.

Jun 29 2010 | Read Full Review of Bruiser

WAPL Teens

And then Bronte trips on a picnic with Brew, twisting and maybe spraining her ankle, though, after a foot massage from Brew, it turns out not to hurt at all anymore.

Jul 30 2010 | Read Full Review of Bruiser

Arlington Public Library

Ok, so this book, let me tell you right away, is one of the best books I have read in a while.

Jan 09 2012 | Read Full Review of Bruiser

Reader Rating for Bruiser

An aggregated and normalized score based on 212 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes

Rate this book!

Add Review