Buccaneer by MayCay Beeler
The Provocative Odyssey of Jack Reed, Adventurer, Drug Smuggler and Pilot Extraordinaire

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

Synopsis

Book Award WINNER 2018 Los Angeles Book Festival Awards Biography category; Book Award WINNER 2016 Hollywood Book Festival Awards Wild Card category;Book Award RUNNER-UP 2017 San Francisco Book Festival Awards Wild Card category;  
Book Award National SILVER MEDALIST 2016 Independent Publisher Book Awards for True Crime IPPY Awards; Book Award Finalist 2017 Book Excellence Awards- True Crime;Book Award Honorable Mention 2016 Readers' Favorite International Book Awards Non-Fiction Drama; Book Award Finalist 2015 Readers' Favorite International Book Awards Biography: Non-Fiction.Book Award Finalist 2014 USA Best Book Awards: True Crime Non-Fiction.    
          

Not your typical cocaine cowboy! Buccaneer is the stimulating true account of the life and times of Jack Reed, an All-American boy turned drug smuggler; turned Robinson Crusoe, then prison inmate. For the first time, Jack Reed discloses his extraordinary, tabooed journey as a high flying international cocaine smuggler and personal pilot for Carlos Lehder, partner to Pablo Escobar of the Medellin Cartel. Reed flew drug runs for Lehder who handled transportation, while Colombian drug lord Escobar handled production and supply. Lehder's cocaine transport empire was based at Norman's Cay, an out island in the Bahamas. Having gained notoriety in the late 70s as a staging point for drug smuggling, Norman's Cay was immortalized in Blow, a 2001 motion picture starring Johnny Depp.

Reed lands in court as Lehder's co-defendant in the longest running drug trial in U.S. history. A non-violent offender, Reed becomes the victim of a tragic judicial sentencing mistake. Tired of being hounded by media, Reed had denied all interviews until pilot/journalist MayCay Beeler contacted him in prison. At that time, she had no idea she would become his coauthor and a character in his infamous life story and twist of fate ending.
 
"He refused to talk to cops and press- until me.  In our book, which was a collaborative work at the end of Reed's life, Reed breaks his silence about his alleged role in Pablo Escobar's Medellin Drug Cartel, and his stunning punishment for refusing to snitch on  best friend Lehder in the courtroom. This biography features shocking judicial misconduct; a historic drug trial; and the first drug lord extradited to the United States. Reed's controversial story will stun you. It has never been given to any other journalist."- MayCay Beeler

Find out why Reed gave it up to Beeler in this gripping multi
Award-Winning true crime book:  "Buccaneer-
The Provocative Odyssey of Jack Reed- Adventurer, Drug Smuggler and Pilot
Extraordinaire" from publisher Strategic Media Books. Get out your
hankies- the surprise ending will make you weep and smile. You will believe in
destiny.                                                                


This is a true story. Fans of Netflix Narcos, Cocaine Cowboys and American Made movies may be surprised by this raw, honest and true personal account that does not blur fact with fiction. Not what media led us to believe.  
                                 
 

About MayCay Beeler

See more books from this Author
 
Published March 15, 2014 by Strategic Media Books. 220 pages
Genres: Biographies & Memoirs, History, Crime, Sports & Outdoors, Travel. Non-fiction