Call Each River Jordan by Owen Parry

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 2 Critic Reviews



Far from the cries and smoke of combat, forty murdered slaves hang at a crossroads and only one man insists on justice. Major Abel Jones investigates a dark world of midnight savagery, ritual murder, and sudden combat, as desperate men and women struggle to survive the fury of a divided nation in this Owen Parry novel of the Civil War.

About Owen Parry

See more books from this Author
Owen Parry is the author of a series of critically acclaimed, prizewinning novels set during the American Civil War: Faded Coat of Blue, Shadows of Glory, Call Each River Jordan, and Honor's Kingdom. He has also published a collection of holiday tales for adults, Our Simple Gifts. Born in the anthracite region of Pennsylvania, Parry lives and writes in northern Virginia.
Published July 1, 2012 by Stackpole Books. 323 pages
Genres: History, Travel, War, Literature & Fiction, Mystery, Thriller & Suspense. Fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for Call Each River Jordan

Kirkus Reviews

See more reviews from this publication

After untangling some vicious slave-abuse issues, and after Raines makes peace with his boyhood rival Barclay, Jones meets the slave leader, Mr. Hitchens, and through a bit of deduction comes to understand that the deaths were the work of a Union religious fanatic.

| Read Full Review of Call Each River Jordan

Civil War News

.Fowler is an Elmer Ellsworth-like character: “women adored Anthony Fowler, calling cards with his photo were a rage among girls, and young men copied his dress … but he remained pure, vowing chastity until the day all men would be free.” Jones’ investigation brings him in contact w...

| Read Full Review of Call Each River Jordan

Reader Rating for Call Each River Jordan

An aggregated and normalized score based on 51 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes

Rate this book!

Add Review