Call the Midwife by Jennifer Worth
Farewell to the East End

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 1 Critic Review

This was a fitting book to finish shortly before Lent...The Christian life is by nature a difficult one, and we are called to embrace hardship in various forms.
-Patheos

Synopsis

The last book in the trilogy begun by Jennifer Worth's New York Times bestseller and the basis for the PBS series Call the Midwife

When twenty-two-year-old Jennifer Worth, from a comfortable middle-class upbringing, went to work as a midwife in the poorest section of postwar London, she not only delivered hundreds of babies and touched many lives, she also became the neighborhood's most vivid chronicler. Call the Midwife: Farewell to the East End is the last book in Worth's memoir trilogy, which the Times Literary Supplement described as "powerful stories with sweet charm and controlled outrage" in the face of dire circumstances.

Here, at last, is the full story of Chummy's delightful courtship and wedding. We also meet Megan'mave, identical twins who share a browbeaten husband, and return to Sister Monica Joan, who is in top eccentric form. As in Worth's first two books, Call the Midwife: A Memoir of Birth, Joy, and Hard Times and Call the Midwife: Shadows of the Workhouse, the vividly portrayed denizens of a postwar East End contend with the trials of extreme poverty—unsanitary conditions, hunger, and disease—and find surprising ways to thrive in their tightly knit community.

A rich portrait of a bygone era of comradeship and midwifery populated by unforgettable characters, Call the Midwife: Farewell to the East End will appeal to readers of Frank McCourt, Katherine Boo, and James Herriot, as well as to the fans of the acclaimed PBS show based on the trilogy.

 

About Jennifer Worth

See more books from this Author
Jennifer Worth trained as a nurse at the Royal Berkshire Hospital, Reading, and was a ward sister at the Elizabeth Garrett Anderson Hospital and the Marie Curie Hospital in London. She eventually left nursing to study and teach music. She died in May 2011.
 
Published March 12, 2013 by Ecco. 338 pages
Genres: Biographies & Memoirs, History, Travel, Professional & Technical, Health, Fitness & Dieting. Non-fiction
Bestseller Status:
icon21
Peak Rank on Apr 06 2014
icon2
Weeks as Bestseller
Add Critic Review

Critic reviews for Call the Midwife
All: 1 | Positive: 1 | Negative: 0

Patheos

Above average
Reviewed by Katie McGinley on Mar 08 2014

This was a fitting book to finish shortly before Lent...The Christian life is by nature a difficult one, and we are called to embrace hardship in various forms.

Read Full Review of Call the Midwife: Farewell to...

Reader Rating for Call the Midwife
92%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 803 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×