Canary in the Coal Mine by Madelyn Rosenberg

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 2 Critic Reviews

unrated

Synopsis

Bitty is a canary whose courage more than makes up for his diminutive size. Of course, as a miner bird who detects deadly gas leaks in a West Virginia coal mine during the Depression, he is used to facing danger. Tired of perilous working conditions, he escapes and hops a coal train to the state capital to seek help in improving the plights of miners and their canaries. In the tradition of E.B. White, George Selden, and Beverly Cleary's Ralph S. Mouse, Madelyn Rosenberg has written a singular novel full of unforgettable characters.
 

About Madelyn Rosenberg

See more books from this Author
Madelyn Rosenberg is a journalist and picture book author. Kirkus Reviews called The Schmutzy Family "delightful and unpretentious." This is her first novel for children. She lives in Virginia.
 
Published April 12, 2013 by Holiday House. 144 pages
Genres: Nature & Wildlife, Children's Books, Literature & Fiction, Science Fiction & Fantasy. Fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for Canary in the Coal Mine

Kirkus Reviews

See more reviews from this publication

The challenges of the coal-mining life from a working canary's point of view.

Feb 27 2013 | Read Full Review of Canary in the Coal Mine

Gr 4–6—Bitty, a canary, tells the story of life in a small coal-mining town in West Virginia during the Depression. Miners carried the birds into the mines to detect the presence of toxic gases long before mechanical devices were invented and made affordable. Bitty lives in the big house, a large...

May 01 2013 | Read Full Review of Canary in the Coal Mine

Reader Rating for Canary in the Coal Mine
90%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 5 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review