Carve the Mark by Veronica Roth

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 2 Critic Reviews

The narration is split between the two protagonists. Cyra’s first-person voice is compelling, while the third-person narrative that follows Akos feels flat and distant. Mixed-race Cyra has “medium brown, almost golden” skin, while Akos is fair-skinned. Brimming with plot twists and highly likely to please Roth’s fans.
-Kirkus

Synopsis

Fans of Star Wars and Divergent will revel in internationally bestselling author Veronica Roth’s stunning new science-fiction fantasy series.

On a planet where violence and vengeance rule, in a galaxy where some are favored by fate, everyone develops a currentgift, a unique power meant to shape the future. While most benefit from their currentgifts, Akos and Cyra do not—their gifts make them vulnerable to others’ control. Can they reclaim their gifts, their fates, and their lives, and reset the balance of power in this world?

Cyra is the sister of the brutal tyrant who rules the Shotet people. Cyra’s currentgift gives her pain and power—something her brother exploits, using her to torture his enemies. But Cyra is much more than just a blade in her brother’s hand: she is resilient, quick on her feet, and smarter than he knows.

Akos is from the peace-loving nation of Thuvhe, and his loyalty to his family is limitless. Though protected by his unusual currentgift, once Akos and his brother are captured by enemy Shotet soldiers, Akos is desperate to get his brother out alive—no matter what the cost. When Akos is thrust into Cyra’s world, the enmity between their countries and families seems insurmountable. They must decide to help each other to survive—or to destroy one another.

 

About Veronica Roth

See more books from this Author
Veronica Roth burst onto the literary scene with Divergent, an instant New York Times bestseller, and its acclaimed sequel, Insurgent, which debuted as a #1 New York Times bestseller. A full-time writer, Ms. Roth lives near Chicago with her husband. You can visit her online via her blog (www.veronicarothbooks.com), on Twitter (@veronicaroth), or on Tumblr (http://theartofnotwriting.tumblr.com/).
 
Published January 17, 2017 by Katherine Tegen Books. 480 pages
Genres: Romance, Science Fiction & Fantasy, Literature & Fiction, Action & Adventure. Fiction
Add Critic Review

Critic reviews for Carve the Mark
All: 2 | Positive: 2 | Negative: 0

Kirkus

Good
on Dec 06 2016

The narration is split between the two protagonists. Cyra’s first-person voice is compelling, while the third-person narrative that follows Akos feels flat and distant. Mixed-race Cyra has “medium brown, almost golden” skin, while Akos is fair-skinned. Brimming with plot twists and highly likely to please Roth’s fans.

Read Full Review of Carve the Mark | See more reviews from Kirkus

Publishers Weekly

Good
on Aug 24 2017

Amid political machinations and forays into space, Roth thoughtfully addresses substantial issues, such as the power of self-determination in the face of fate. Readers will eagerly await a second installment.

Read Full Review of Carve the Mark | See more reviews from Publishers Weekly

Reader Rating for Carve the Mark
73%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 84 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×