Case of a Lifetime by Abbe Smith
A Criminal Defense Lawyer's Story

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 2 Critic Reviews

unrated

Synopsis

A recent study estimates that thousands of innocent people are wrongfully imprisoned each year in the United States. Some are exonerated through DNA evidence, but many more languish in prison because their convictions were based on faulty eyewitness accounts and no DNA is available. Prominent criminal lawyer and law professor Abbe Smith weaves together real life cases to show what it is like to champion the rights of the accused. Smith describes the moral and ethical dilemmas of representing the guilty and the weighty burden of fighting for the innocent, including the victorious story of how she helped free a woman wrongly imprisoned for nearly three decades.


For fans of Law and Order and investigative news programs like 20/20, Case of a Lifetime is a chilling look at what really determines a person's innocence.

 

About Abbe Smith

See more books from this Author
Abbe Smith, director of the Criminal Justice Clinic and professor of law at Georgetown Law School, is the recognized expert on legal ethics. She is a regular contributor to The New York Times, Boston Globe, Philadelphia Daily News, National Law Journal, and The Atlantic Monthly. She lives in Washington, D.C.  
 
Published July 22, 2008 by Palgrave Macmillan Trade. 256 pages
Genres: Biographies & Memoirs, Political & Social Sciences, Law & Philosophy, Professional & Technical. Non-fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for Case of a Lifetime

Kirkus Reviews

See more reviews from this publication

The author was a second-year law student in 1980 when she met convicted felon Kelly Jarrett under the auspices of New York University’s free Prison Law Clinic.

| Read Full Review of Case of a Lifetime: A Crimina...

Bookmarks Magazine

Smith describes the moral and ethical dilemmas of representing the guilty and the weighty burden of fighting for the innocent, including the victorious story of how she helped free a woman wrongly imprisoned for nearly three decades.For fans of Law and Order and investigative news p...

Sep 28 2008 | Read Full Review of Case of a Lifetime: A Crimina...

Reader Rating for Case of a Lifetime
93%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 15 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×