Charlie Joe Jackson's Guide to Summer Vacation by Tommy Greenwald

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 1 Critic Review

Fans of Joey Pigza and Big Nate will find a lot to love here. Charlie is no longer a caricature but a fully fleshed-out, likable young man. A series that improves with each offering.
-Kirkus

Synopsis

Despite all attempts to avoid reading and extra work, Charlie Joe Jackson finds himself in a terrible dream he can't wake up from: Camp Rituhbukkee (pronounced "read-a-bookie")—a place filled with grammar workshops, Read-a-Ramas, and kids who actually like reading. But Charlie Joe is determined to convince the entire camp to hate reading and writing—one genius at a time.
Tommy Greenwald's Charlie Joe Jackson's Guide to Summer Vacation is another fun installment in the life of a reluctant reader.

 

About Tommy Greenwald

See more books from this Author
TOMMY GREENWALD has enjoyed reading all his life, which is why he's appalled that his kids Charlie, Joe and Jack, would prefer getting a dental check-up to checking out a book. After years of pleading, threatening, and bribing, Tommy finally decided the only way to get his kids to read was to write a book about how to get out of reading. This is the result. And they read it! (So they say.) The Executive Creative Director at SPOTCO, an entertainment advertising agency in New York City, Tommy lives in Connecticut with his wife, Cathy; his non-reading sons, Charlie, Joe and Jack; and his dogs, Moose and Coco.Check out Tommy's website (minimal reading required) at www.tommygreenwald.com
 
Published May 7, 2013 by Roaring Brook Press. 241 pages
Genres: Education & Reference, Humor & Entertainment, Children's Books, Sports & Outdoors, Literature & Fiction. Fiction
Add Critic Review

Critic reviews for Charlie Joe Jackson's Guide to Summer Vacation
All: 1 | Positive: 1 | Negative: 0

Kirkus

Good
on Mar 06 2013

Fans of Joey Pigza and Big Nate will find a lot to love here. Charlie is no longer a caricature but a fully fleshed-out, likable young man. A series that improves with each offering.

Read Full Review of Charlie Joe Jackson's Guide t... | See more reviews from Kirkus

Reader Rating for Charlie Joe Jackson's Guide to Summer Vacation
89%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 55 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×