Chasing Rumi by Roger Housden
A Fable About Finding the Heart's True Desire

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 4 Critic Reviews

unrated

Synopsis

This enchanting story, set in the late 1950s, takes us from the hills and piazzas of Florence to the green domed mosques of Konya, Turkey. Upon discovering a poem by the thirteenth-century Sufi dervish Rumi, Georgiou, a young Greek icon painter, is compelled to travel to the land that this poet called home. Inspired by Rumi's magical words, Georgiou leaves his father and their small business in hopes of recapturing the transcendent power of an early childhood vision.

Through encounters with Christian and Islamic mystics, and guided by forces he cannot name, Georgiou gradually learns to follow his own heart. The closer he gets to Konya and to Rumi's tomb, the more in awe he becomes at the workings of fate. But it is only when Georgiou returns to Florence that his life changes forever in an experience that reveals the mystery of life and love.

In the tradition of The Alchemist and Siddartha, Chasing Rumi is a spellbinding and enduring story for all.

 

About Roger Housden

See more books from this Author
Roger Housden emigrated from England to the United States in 1998 and now lives in New York City and New Jersey. He is the author of numerous books on cultural and spiritual themes, including the bestselling Ten Poems series. You can contact him at tenpoems@juno.com.
 
Published January 1, 2002 by HarperSanFrancisco. 144 pages
Genres: Literature & Fiction. Fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for Chasing Rumi

Kirkus Reviews

See more reviews from this publication

The Greco-Italian icon painter Georgiou was born into the trade, so to speak: His father Stefanou had been an icon painter, and he had trained Georgiou in the craft.

| Read Full Review of Chasing Rumi: A Fable About F...

Publishers Weekly

See more reviews from this publication

Housden (Ten Poems to Change Your Life) adds a mystical twist to a young man's search for love in this spare, allegorical tale of a Greek icon painter living

Sep 30 2002 | Read Full Review of Chasing Rumi: A Fable About F...

Publishers Weekly

See more reviews from this publication

Housden (Ten Poems to Change Your Life) adds a mystical twist to a young man's search for love in this spare, allegorical tale of a Greek icon painter living in 1950s Italy who makes a pilgrimage to the tomb of 13th-century Sufi poet Jelaluddin Rumi.

| Read Full Review of Chasing Rumi: A Fable About F...

Spirituality & Practice

In 1948, eighteen-year-old Georgiou visits the Museo San Marco in his hometown of Florence.

Feb 14 2013 | Read Full Review of Chasing Rumi: A Fable About F...

Reader Rating for Chasing Rumi
75%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 8 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review