Child of the Mountains by Marilyn Sue Shank

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 7 Critic Reviews

This is a honest look at mountain folk who live a simple life. The author makes the pain and heartbreak Lydia feels authentic and memorable.
-Journey of a Bookseller

Synopsis

"Unfolds in pitch-perfect regional dialect. . . . For fans of Ruth White's and Kerry Madden's Appalachian-inspired fiction."--Kirkus Reviews

It's about keeping the faith.

Growing up poor in 1953 in the Appalachian Mountains of West Virginia doesn't bother Lydia Hawkins. She treasures her tight-knit family. There's her loving mama, now widowed; her whip-smart younger brother, BJ, who has cystic fibrosis; and wise old Gran. But everything falls apart after Gran and BJ die and mama is jailed unjustly. Suddenly Lydia has lost all those dearest to her.
Moving to a coal camp to live with her uncle William and aunt Ethel Mae only makes Lydia feel more alone. She is  ridiculed at her new school for her outgrown homemade clothes and the way she talks, and for what the kids believe her mama did. And to make matters worse, she discovers that her uncle has been keeping a family secret—about her.
If only Lydia, with her resilient spirit and determination, could find a way to clear her mother's name. . . .


From the Hardcover edition.
 

About Marilyn Sue Shank

See more books from this Author
MARILYN SUE SHANK has a PhD in special education from the University of Kansas. Child of the Mountains is her debut novel.
 
Published April 10, 2012 by Delacorte Books for Young Readers. 273 pages
Genres: Children's Books, Literature & Fiction. Fiction
Bookmark Counts:
4
Want to Read
Add Critic Review

Critic reviews for Child of the Mountains
All: 7 | Positive: 7 | Negative: 0

Kirkus

Excellent
Reviewed by Kirkus Reviews on Apr 10 2012

While hoping for her jailed, single mother’s appeal in 1953, an Appalachian Mountain girl from West Virginia finds her identity in this promising debut.

Read Full Review of Child of the Mountains | See more reviews from Kirkus

WV Gazette

Excellent
Reviewed by Sarah Sullivan on Apr 07 2012

"Child of the Mountains" is a good story told in authentic Appalachian dialect by a writer who knows her subject matter and who fiercely loves the place that formed her.

Read Full Review of Child of the Mountains

KCLS

Excellent
Reviewed by Amy on May 08 2012

This book really shines in its ability to showcase culture in isolation.

Read Full Review of Child of the Mountains

Two Lane Living

Excellent
Reviewed by TLL Online on Apr 10 2012

Written in Lydia’s voice and Appalachian dialect, Child of the Mountains is a proud yet humble testament to mountain people and the mountain way of life.

Read Full Review of Child of the Mountains

Popcorn Reads

Good
Reviewed by MK on Apr 10 2012

Writers are always told to write what  they know, and that is what Marilyn Sue Shanks has done in Child of the Mountains.

Read Full Review of Child of the Mountains

Journey of a Bookseller

Good
Reviewed by Jo Ann Hakola on Apr 02 2012

This is a honest look at mountain folk who live a simple life. The author makes the pain and heartbreak Lydia feels authentic and memorable.

Read Full Review of Child of the Mountains

Hobbitsies

Good
Reviewed by Hobbitsies on Mar 26 2012

If you’re a fan of historical fiction with a side of heartbreak and hope, and beautiful coming-of-age stories, definitely pick up this fabulous debut by Marilyn Sue Shank. Child of the Mountains is not a book you want to miss.

Read Full Review of Child of the Mountains

Reader Rating for Child of the Mountains
87%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 50 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review

Reader reviews & activity

Marjorie Ellsworth

Marjorie Ellsworth 5 Sep 2013

Added the book to want to read list

Gerri Tureski

Gerri Tureski 5 Sep 2013

Added the book to want to read list

Conni Mitkowski

Conni Mitkowski 5 Sep 2013

Added the book to want to read list

Vivian Taylor

Vivian Taylor 5 Sep 2013

Added the book to want to read list

×