Children of Blood and Bone by Tomi Adeyemi
(Legacy of Orisha)

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 2 Critic Reviews

The narrative empowers without preaching, weaving its message deftly into a rip-roaring tale...But as I reached the last few pages of this book, I got a thrill. I thought to myself, is this where it's going? I hoped it was — and my hope was rewarded.
-NPR

Synopsis

With four starred reviews, Tomi Adeyemi’s West African-inspired fantasy debut, and instant #1 New York Times Bestseller, conjures a world of magic and danger, perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo and Sabaa Tahir.

They killed my mother.
They took our magic.
They tried to bury us.

Now we rise.

Zélie Adebola remembers when the soil of Orïsha hummed with magic. Burners ignited flames, Tiders beckoned waves, and Zélie’s Reaper mother summoned forth souls.

But everything changed the night magic disappeared. Under the orders of a ruthless king, maji were killed, leaving Zélie without a mother and her people without hope.

Now Zélie has one chance to bring back magic and strike against the monarchy. With the help of a rogue princess, Zélie must outwit and outrun the crown prince, who is hell-bent on eradicating magic for good.

Danger lurks in Orïsha, where snow leoponaires prowl and vengeful spirits wait in the waters. Yet the greatest danger may be Zélie herself as she struggles to control her powers and her growing feelings for an enemy.

"A phenomenon." —Entertainment Weekly

“The epic I’ve been waiting for.” —New York Times-bestselling author Marie Lu

“You will be changed. You will be ready to rise up and reclaim your own magic!” —New York Times-bestselling author Dhonielle Clayton

“The next big thing in literature and film.” —Ebony

“One of the biggest young adult fiction debut book deals of theyear.” —Teen Vogue

This title has Common Core connections.

 

About Tomi Adeyemi

See more books from this Author
 
Published March 6, 2018 by Henry Holt and Co. (BYR). 537 pages
Genres: Science Fiction & Fantasy, Literature & Fiction. Fiction
Add Critic Review

Critic reviews for Children of Blood and Bone
All: 2 | Positive: 2 | Negative: 0

Guardian

Above average
Reviewed by Kiran Millwood Hargrave on Mar 07 2018

Children of Blood and Bone is Nigerian American author Tomi Adeyemi’s YA debut...The novel’s strongest undercurrent is its deft portrayal of racial tensions and persecution.

Read Full Review of Children of Blood and Bone (L... | See more reviews from Guardian

NPR

Good
Reviewed by Caitlyn Paxson on Mar 10 2018

The narrative empowers without preaching, weaving its message deftly into a rip-roaring tale...But as I reached the last few pages of this book, I got a thrill. I thought to myself, is this where it's going? I hoped it was — and my hope was rewarded.

Read Full Review of Children of Blood and Bone (L... | See more reviews from NPR

Reader Rating for Children of Blood and Bone
100%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 64 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×