Christmas, Present by Jacquelyn Mitchard

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 4 Critic Reviews

unrated

Synopsis

A fourteenth wedding anniversary is nothing tosneeze at, Elliott Banner knows, but it's not a land-mark year, like twenty, when he'll take his wife, Laura, to Paris. But when a headache on the drive home from their anniversary date -- two days before Christmas -- turns out to be more than a migraine, he wishes he had celebrated every year as though it were their last.

In this poignant, uplifting story, a woman calmly gathers her family around her to celebrate their lives together and to count their blessings.

A family history unfolds in a single night in this deeply affecting story about love, trust, and letting go -- a holiday read that underscores the true meaning of the season.

 

About Jacquelyn Mitchard

See more books from this Author
Jacquelyn Mitchard is the #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Deep End of the Ocean, the very first Oprah Book Club pick, as well as more than twenty other critically acclaimed books for adults and teens. A nominee for several national and international awards, she served on the 2004 Fiction Jury for the National Book Award. In addition, she is a longtime journalist and regular contributor to Real Simple and Parade magazines.
 
Published March 17, 2009 by HarperCollins e-books. 144 pages
Genres: Literature & Fiction. Fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for Christmas, Present

Publishers Weekly

See more reviews from this publication

Her death is undeniably sad, but a final chapter offers the bereft Elliott and his three daughters the Christmas present Laura promised would be theirs: hope for the future.

| Read Full Review of Christmas, Present

Book Reporter

In the vein of Donna VanLiere's THE CHRISTMAS SHOES and Richard Paul Evans's THE CHRISTMAS BOX, bestselling author Jacquelyn Mitchard (THE DEEP END OF THE OCEAN, A THEORY OF RELATIVITY) has penned a slim but poignant Christmas story that captures perfectly the true spirit of the season.

Jan 21 2011 | Read Full Review of Christmas, Present

Entertainment Weekly

Elliott and Laura are celebrating their 14th wedding anniversary on Dec. 23 when Laura gets a headache that turns out to be much more than a headache: As the ER doctor bluntly informs them, Laura is hemorrhaging in her brain, and she's going to die that very night -- which she does, as the nurse...

Dec 24 2003 | Read Full Review of Christmas, Present

People

If Beaches is on your Top 10 movie list and you've got at least one episode of Touched by an Angel on videotape, then this book might be your cup of herbal tea.

Dec 15 2003 | Read Full Review of Christmas, Present

Reader Rating for Christmas, Present
68%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 31 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×