Christmas in Plains by Jimmy Carter & Amy Carter
Memories

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 6 Critic Reviews

unrated

Synopsis

In a beautifully rendered portrait, Jimmy Carter remembers the Christmas days of his Plains boyhood -- the simplicity of family and community gift-giving, his father's eggnog, the children's house decorations, the school Nativity pageant, the fireworks, Luke's story of the birth of Christ, and the poignancy of his black neighbors' poverty.
Later, away at Annapolis, he always went home to Plains, and during his Navy years, when he and Rosalynn were raising their young family, they spent their Christmases together re-creating for their children the holiday festivities of their youth.
Since the Carters returned home to Plains for good, they have always been there on Christmas Day, with only one exception in forty-eight years: In 1980, with Americans held hostage in Iran, Jimmy, Rosalynn, and Amy went by themselves to Camp David, where they felt lonely. Amy suggested that they invite the White House staff and their families to join them and to celebrate.
Nowadays the Carters' large family is still together at Christmastime, offering each other the gifts and the lifelong rituals that mark this day for them.
With the novelist's eye that enchanted readers of his memoir An Hour Before Daylight, Jimmy Carter has written another American classic, in the tradition of Truman Capote's A Christmas Memory and Dylan Thomas's A Child's Christmas in Wales.
 

About Jimmy Carter & Amy Carter

See more books from this Author
Jimmy Carter was born in Plains, Georgia, and served as thirty-ninth President of the United States. He and his wife, Rosalynn, founded The Carter Center, a nonprofit organization that prevents and resolves conflicts, enhances freedom and democracy, and improves health around the world. He is the author of numerous books, including Palestine Peace Not Apartheid, An Hour Before Daylight and Our Endangered Values. He received a "Best Spoken Word" Grammy Award for his recording of Our Endangered Values. All of President Carter's proceeds from this series will go to the Maranatha Baptist Church of Plains, Georgia.
 
Published October 19, 2001 by Simon & Schuster. 160 pages
Genres: Biographies & Memoirs, History, Political & Social Sciences, Religion & Spirituality. Non-fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for Christmas in Plains

Kirkus Reviews

See more reviews from this publication

The local church was the center of their festivities on Christmas Day, the pine tree growing outside was decorated with small presents, and the children had to give recitations before they received their gifts.

| Read Full Review of Christmas in Plains : Memories

Publishers Weekly

See more reviews from this publication

This slim yet deeply textured memoir detailing former president Carter's Christmases as a boy in rural Georgia, as a naval officer, a politician and president serves as an excellent companion to his earlier, bestselling memoir, An Hour Before Daylight, but can also be read on its own as a tribut...

| Read Full Review of Christmas in Plains : Memories

Star Tribune

See more reviews from this publication

Nugget: "There's a time in the very belly of Christmas Eve when everything in the universe stands still and the silence that amalgamates then is raucous enough to wake the dead and that night the silence wakened me."

Dec 04 2001 | Read Full Review of Christmas in Plains : Memories

Book Reporter

Whether or not Jimmy Carter was a successful President during his single term (1977-1981) may be debatable, but it seems beyond dispute that he has made a great success of the "office" of ex-President.

Jan 21 2011 | Read Full Review of Christmas in Plains : Memories

Entertainment Weekly

For an authentic account of country-style holidays, check out Jimmy Carter's Christmas in Plains, a sequel to his best-selling boyhood memoir, ''An Hour Before Daylight.'' (Oddly, once-unpopular Presidents Carter and Nixon have enjoyed greater authorial success than the more widely approved Ronal...

Nov 21 2001 | Read Full Review of Christmas in Plains : Memories

People

Not counting the year a grapefruit truck accidentally spread its contents over a half-mile stretch of road near the Carter family home, Christmas in pre-World War II Plains, Ga., probably wasn't a whole lot different from the rest of rural America's: The grown-ups drank whiskey-spiked eggnog, and...

Dec 17 2001 | Read Full Review of Christmas in Plains : Memories

Reader Rating for Christmas in Plains
77%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 22 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×