Clara Lee and the Apple Pie Dream by Jenny Han

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 4 Critic Reviews

unrated

Synopsis

Meet Clara Lee.
Likes: her best friends, her grandpa, her little sister (when she's not being annoying, which is almost always), candy necklaces, and the Apple Blossom Festival.

Dislikes: her little sister (when she's being annoying, which is almost always), her mom's yucky fish soup, and bad dreams (even though Grandpa says they mean good luck).

After a bad dream, Clara Lee has a whole day of good luck. But when her luck changes, she upsets her friends and family. Will Clara Lee have good luck again in time to try out for the Little Miss Apple Pie pageant?

Clara Lee is a delightful character from acclaimed author Jenny Han. This charming, humorous chapter book is perfect for fans of Clementine and Judy Moody!
 

About Jenny Han

See more books from this Author
Jenny Han is the New York Times bestselling author of The Summer I Turned Pretty series, Shug, and the Burn for Burn trilogy. She is also the author of the chapter book Clara Lee and The Apple Pie Dream. A former children’s bookseller, she earned her MFA in creative writing at the New School. Visit her at DearJennyHan.com.Siobhan Vivian is the author of the young adult novel The List, as well as Not That Kind of Girl, Same Difference, and A Little Friendly Advice, and the Burn for Burn trilogy. A former editor for Alloy Entertainment, she received her MFA in creative writing at the New School. She teaches creative writing at the University of Pittsburgh. Visit her at SiobhanVivian.com.
 
Published January 14, 2014 by Little, Brown Books for Young Readers. 155 pages
Genres: Humor & Entertainment, Travel, Children's Books, Literature & Fiction. Fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for Clara Lee and the Apple Pie Dream

Kirkus Reviews

See more reviews from this publication

Dreaming of being the Apple Pie Princess in her town’s Apple Blossom Festival, Korean-American third grader Clara Lee defies a classmate who claims to be more deserving and bravely makes a speech in front of the whole school to win the honor.

Nov 15 2010 | Read Full Review of Clara Lee and the Apple Pie D...

KidsReads

Although CLARA LEE AND THE APPLE PIE DREAM is only a mere 150 pages with large typeface and adorable pen-and-ink illustrations scattered throughout, this pint-size book has just about all the ingredients for an easily digestible and thoroughly engaging read: true-to-life characters, an important ...

Jan 04 2011 | Read Full Review of Clara Lee and the Apple Pie D...

Shelf Awareness

Almost seventy years later I remember clearly how the magic of translating the words in books into images enriched my life, breaking the barriers of time and space and allowing me to travel with Captain Nemo twenty thousand leagues under the sea, fight with d’Artagnan, Athos, Portos, and Aramis a...

| Read Full Review of Clara Lee and the Apple Pie D...

Shelf Awareness

She tells Grandpa about her rival for Miss Little Apple Pie, and how the girl bragged that her “great-great-great-uncle was one of Bramley’s founding fathers,” and her family is “as American as apple pie.” Grandpa reassures Clara Lee, “You are all-American Korean American!

| Read Full Review of Clara Lee and the Apple Pie D...

Reader Rating for Clara Lee and the Apple Pie Dream
82%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 9 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review