Clash! by Hazel Rose Markus
8 Cultural Conflicts That Make Us Who We Are

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 1 Critic Review

A bit more complexity combined with a mite more subtlety would go a long way to bolstering their argument.
-Blog Critics


What kind of person are you?

Are you independent--individual, unique, and in control of your world? Are you interdependent--relational, similar to others, and good at adjusting to situations?

Or are you both?

In Clash!, leading cultural psychologists Hazel Rose Markus and Alana Conner show us how our cultural backgrounds create and reflect these two basic ways of being a self, which then shape everything from how we run our governments to how we raise our children.

Markus and Conner also demonstrate how clashes between independence and interdependence fuel many of today's most pressing conflicts, including tensions between East and West, the Global North and Global South, men and women, blacks and whites, conservative and liberal, religious groups, rich and poor, and businesses, governments, and nonprofits.

Provocative and entertaining, Clash! offers solutions to many of the problems that plague our workplaces, schools, and relationships. For readers of The Culture Code by Clotaire Rapaille and The Wisdom of Crowds by James Surowiecki, it doesn't just explain who we are, it also envisions who we could become.

About Hazel Rose Markus

See more books from this Author
Hazel Rose Markus, Ph.D., is the Davis-Brack Professor in the behavioral sciences at Stanford University. Alana Conner, Ph.D., is a Stanford-trained cultural psychologist and science writer based in San Francisco.
Published May 2, 2013 by Plume. 316 pages
Genres: Health, Fitness & Dieting, Political & Social Sciences, Professional & Technical. Non-fiction
Add Critic Review

Critic reviews for Clash!
All: 1 | Positive: 0 | Negative: 1

Blog Critics

Above average
Reviewed by Jack Goodstein on May 11 2013

A bit more complexity combined with a mite more subtlety would go a long way to bolstering their argument.

Read Full Review of Clash!: 8 Cultural Conflicts ... | See more reviews from Blog Critics

Reader Rating for Clash!

An aggregated and normalized score based on 42 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes

Rate this book!

Add Review