Clayton Byrd Goes Underground by Rita Williams-Garcia

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 1 Critic Review

Fans of Jason Reynolds and Kwame Alexander will find comfort in the portrayal of Clayton and his struggle to become a young man.
-NY Times

Synopsis

5 Starred Reviews!

"This slim novel strikes a strong chord"—Publishers Weekly (starred review)

"This complex tale of family and forgiveness has heart.” School Library Journal (starred review)

"Strong characterizations and vivid musical scenes add layers to this warm family story.” Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

“An appealing, realistic story with frequent elegant turns of phrase." —The Horn Book (starred review)

"Garcia-Williams skillfully finds melody in words.” —Booklist (starred review)

From beloved Newbery Honor winner and three-time Coretta Scott King Award winner Rita Williams-Garcia comes a powerful and heartfelt novel about loss, family, and love that will appeal to fans of Jason Reynolds and Kwame Alexander.

Clayton feels most alive when he’s with his grandfather, Cool Papa Byrd, and the band of Bluesmen—he can’t wait to join them, just as soon as he has a blues song of his own. But then the unthinkable happens. Cool Papa Byrd dies, and Clayton’s mother forbids Clayton from playing the blues. And Clayton knows that’s no way to live.

Armed with his grandfather’s brown porkpie hat and his harmonica, he runs away from home in search of the Bluesmen, hoping he can join them on the road. But on the journey that takes him through the New York City subways and to Washington Square Park, Clayton learns some things that surprise him.

 

About Rita Williams-Garcia

See more books from this Author
Rita Williams-Garcia is currently a faculty member at the Vermont College of Fine Arts in the Writing for Children and Young Adults Program. She has two adult daughters, Stephanie and Michelle, and a son-in-law, Adam, and lives in Jamaica, NY. You can visit her online at www.ritawg.com.
 
Published May 9, 2017 by Amistad. 176 pages
Genres: Children's Books, Arts & Photography.
Add Critic Review

Critic reviews for Clayton Byrd Goes Underground
All: 1 | Positive: 1 | Negative: 0

NY Times

Above average
Reviewed by Meg Medina on May 12 2017

Fans of Jason Reynolds and Kwame Alexander will find comfort in the portrayal of Clayton and his struggle to become a young man.

Read Full Review of Clayton Byrd Goes Underground | See more reviews from NY Times

Rate this book!

Add Review
×