Collected Stories by Gabriel Garcia Marquez

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 1 Critic Review



The twenty-six always compelling, often astonishing, stories in this collection are published in chronological order, so readers can appreciate the Nobel prize-winning writer's progress from early experimentation, to full-blown magical realism. Each tale is not just a read, but an experience: you join a community in the thrall of a corpse in "The Handsomest Drowned Man in the World"; sail through "The Last Voyage of the Ghost Ship" a five-page story written as a single sentence, and feel your way, blinded, through "The Night of the Curlews". 'A single sentence of Garcia Marquez often has more meat to it than many whole novels' - "Observer".

About Gabriel Garcia Marquez

See more books from this Author
Gabriel GarcÍa MÁrquez was born in Colombia in 1927. His many books include The Autumn of the Patriarch; No One Writes to the Colonel; Love in the Time of Cholera; a memoir, Living to Tell the Tale; and, most recently, a novel, Memories of My Melancholy Whores. Gabriel GarcÍa MÁrquez was awarded the Nobel Prize for Literature in 1982.
Published November 1, 1984 by HarperCollins. 311 pages
Genres: Literature & Fiction. Fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for Collected Stories

Kirkus Reviews

See more reviews from this publication

From the 1968 collection No One Writes to the Colonel come stories of the town of Macondo--about the much-delayed funeral of local sovereign Big Mamma, a dentist's revenge on the corrupt Mayor (extraction sans anesthetic), a priest who sees the Devil, a thief who robs the pool hall of its billiar...

Sep 30 2011 | Read Full Review of Collected Stories

Reader Rating for Collected Stories

An aggregated and normalized score based on 19 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes

Rate this book!

Add Review