Collegium Sorcerorum by Louis Sauvain
: Thaddeus And The Master (Volume 2)

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 1 Critic Review



In the second book of epic fantasy in the Collegium Sorcerorum series, begun in Collegium Sorcerorum: Thaddeus of Beewicke, four boys are taken to the Sorcerer's College to learn the most powerful forms of the practice of magic. None could know the immensity of the ancient Evil that some believe dwells there unseen. It is a summer in the Dark Ages, and Master Silvestrus of the Collegium Sorcerorum has guided his three charges -- Thaddeus of Beewicke, Anders of Brightfield Manor and Rolland of Fountaindale -- safely to the school of Sorcery to begin their magical education. There they meet a fourth, Zoarr, Prince of Mauretesia, completing their circle -- the Circuitus Octipes Magnus. The boys excel in their studies until accosted by Master Perditus, a shunned Sorcerer, whose mind and heart are seldom turned from the Minaret of Power, a magical tower stolen from the land of the Cin and housed in secrecy on the school’s campus. Bizarre and unexplained acts lead the apprentices to seek answers from the Goblin Mistress of the College, Lilyput, and her phantom associate, Brother Longbone. Matters come to a head when the boys are lured to the twilit town of Bannock where agents of the Thieve’s Guild and the Family of the Grecoliae seek to first subdue then enslave the good friends. Their quest for knowledge is perilous and on the way the apprentices are confronted by an ancient Centaur, Gargoyle lovers, the last surviving Neanderthal, a four hundred year old parrot who can mimic any living person and assume any form, a still-living leader of the first peoples of the Northern Continent, Ice Faerrae, Excelsior Class Thieves, an albino Griffon, an Arch Daemon, a mad Hermit amputee, and the warriors of the Iron Company as they seek to unravel the mystery of the laughing presence in the Tower. The apprentices’ adventures continue in the third volume of the College of Sorcery series, Collegium Sorcerorum: Thaddeus and the Daemon.

About Louis Sauvain

See more books from this Author
Romance author Jayne Ann Krentz was born in Borrego Springs, California on March 28, 1948. She received a B.A. in history from the University of California at Santa Cruz and a Masters degree in library science from San Jose State University. Before becoming a full-time author, she worked as a librarian. Her novels include: Truth or Dare, All Night Long, and Copper Beach. She has written under seven different names: Jayne Bentley, Amanda Glass, Stephanie James, Jayne Taylor, Jayne Castle, Amanda Quick and Jayne Ann Krentz. Her first book, Gentle Pirate, was published in 1980 under the name Jayne Castle. She currently uses only three personas to represent her three specialties. She uses the name Jayne Ann Krentz for her contemporary pieces, Amanda Quick for her historical fiction pieces, and Jayne Castle for her futuristic pieces. She has received numerous awards for her work including the 1995 Romantic Times Reviewer's Choice Award for Trust Me, the 2004 Romantic Times Reviewer's Choice Award for Falling Awake, the Romantic Times Career Achievement Award, the Romantic Times Jane Austen Award, and the Susan Koppelman Award for Feminist Studies for Dangerous Men and Adventurous Women: Romance Writers on the Appeal of the Romance.
Published March 6, 2012 by Louis Sauvain. 508 pages
Genres: Science Fiction & Fantasy, Literature & Fiction. Fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for Collegium Sorcerorum

Kirkus Reviews

See more reviews from this publication

Sauvain's (Collegium Sorcerorum: Thaddeus of Beewicke, 2011) second fantasy installment features a foursome of heralded, first-year Collegium students who discover their abilities through a series of unexpected adventures.

Jun 04 2012 | Read Full Review of Collegium Sorcerorum:: Thadde...

Rate this book!

Add Review