Composed by Rosanne Cash
A Memoir

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 1 Critic Review

Too often, though, her prose is watery — so thin that, as Woody Guthrie sang about Depression-era stew, you can read a magazine right through it.
-National Post arts

Synopsis

A candid and moving memoir from the critically acclaimed singer and songwriter
For thirty years as a musician, Rosanne Cash has enjoyed both critical and commercial success, releasing a series of albums that are as notable for their lyrical intelligence as for their musical excellence.

Now, in her memoir, Cash writes compellingly about her upbringing in Southern California as the child of country legend Johnny Cash, and of her relationships with her mother and her famous stepmother, June Carter Cash. In her account of her development as an artist she shares memories of a hilarious stint as a twenty-year-old working for Columbia Records in London, recording her own first album on a German label, working her way to success, her marriage to Rodney Crowell, a union that made them Nashville's premier couple, her relationship with the country music establishment, taking a new direction in her music and leaving Nashville to move to New York. As well as motherhood, dealing with the deaths of her parents, in part through music, the process of songwriting, and the fulfillment she has found with her current husband and musical collaborator, John Leventhal.

Cash has written an unconventional and compelling memoir that, in the tradition of M. F. K. Fisher's The Gastronomical Me and Frank Conroy's Stop-Time, is a series of linked pieces that combine to form a luminous and brilliant whole.


 

About Rosanne Cash

See more books from this Author
ROSANNE CASH's fourteen albums have charted eleven number-one singles. She is the author of Bodies of Water and the children's book Penelope Jane: A Fairy's Tale. Her essays and fiction have appeared in The New York Times, Rolling Stone, and New York magazine. She lives in New York City with her husband, John Leventhal, and her children.
 
Published August 10, 2010 by Penguin Books. 258 pages
Genres: Biographies & Memoirs, Humor & Entertainment, Arts & Photography. Non-fiction
Add Critic Review

Critic reviews for Composed
All: 1 | Positive: 0 | Negative: 1

National Post arts

Below average
Reviewed by Dwight Garner on Oct 11 2010

Too often, though, her prose is watery — so thin that, as Woody Guthrie sang about Depression-era stew, you can read a magazine right through it.

Read Full Review of Composed: A Memoir | See more reviews from National Post arts

Reader Rating for Composed
84%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 148 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×