Conspiracy Theory by Jane Haddam
A Gregor Demarkian Novel

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 4 Critic Reviews

unrated

Synopsis

In the tradition of P. D. James, Jane Haddam's novels combine compelling story lines with a keen-eyed, complex sense of the character's psychology and sharp, evocative sense of place. Over the years her novels featuring retired F. B. I. agent Gregor Demarkian have won her the respect of the critics and an ever-increasing number of devoted readers. Now with Conspiracy Theory, all of Haddam's ample of gifts are on display in a chilling novel of class, conspiracy, and murder.

Cavanaugh Street is a mostly quiet Armenian neighborhood in downtown Philadelphia where nearly everyone knows everyone else and certainly knows their business. But that quiet is destroyed when the Armenian Orthodox church is destroyed by bombing and its cleric, Father Tibor Kasparian, is hospitalized as a result. What would normally be a front page event, however, is overshadowed by another event across town - when Philadelphia Main Line society is shocked by the murder of one of their own. Anthony van Wyck Ross - the head of one of the major investment banks and a cornerstone of Main Line society - is murdered at the Around the World Harvest Ball being hosted at his mansion.

Gregor Demarkian, former head of FBI's Behavioral Sciences Unit, and longtime resident of Cavanaugh Street, is soon enmeshed in both cases. With the Ross murder, there is the never-seen conspiracy theorist Michael Harridan who in his literature has claimed that Ross was a member of the dangerous secret ruling elite, The Illuminati. With the church bombing, there were the anonymous threatening letters received by Father Tibor just prior to the bombing. Together - if indeed they are in some inexplicable way related - they are the most challenging cases Demarkian has ever faced.

 

About Jane Haddam

See more books from this Author
JANE HADDAM is the author of more than twenty novels, but is best known for her books featuring Gregor Demarkian. A finalist for both the Edgar and Anthony Awards, she lives with her family in Litchfield Country, Connecticut. Please visit www.blog.janehaddam.com
 
Published April 1, 2007 by Minotaur Books. 288 pages
Genres: Mystery, Thriller & Suspense, Literature & Fiction, Political & Social Sciences. Fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for Conspiracy Theory

Kirkus Reviews

See more reviews from this publication

When an undercover FBI agent also turns up dead, the press and the local fuzz are convinced the wacko conspiracists are at work again, but Armenian-American Poirot Gregor Demarkian focuses instead on analyzing the motives of Ross’s family members and his confidential assistant David Alden, now im...

| Read Full Review of Conspiracy Theory: A Gregor D...

Publishers Weekly

See more reviews from this publication

The citizens of Cavanaugh are as wonderful as ever, but the other characters are such stereotypes they might have been e-mailed in from central casting: the Rich Bitch, the Heartless Capitalist, the Social Climber, the Lonely Spinster manipulated by the Charismatic Cult Leader.

| Read Full Review of Conspiracy Theory: A Gregor D...

Reviewing the Evidence

For those of you already familiar with Jane Haddam's Gregor Demarkian series, I will tell you simply to go out and buy this book.

| Read Full Review of Conspiracy Theory: A Gregor D...

The Best Reviews

CONSPIRACY THEORY is fast- paced and brilliantly plotted while displaying how the events of September 11th fit into the mindset of a conspiracy group who believes the Illuminati are controlling the country and moving towards a one world order.

Jun 16 2003 | Read Full Review of Conspiracy Theory: A Gregor D...

Reader Rating for Conspiracy Theory
75%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 13 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×