Cotton by Stephen Yafa
The Biography of a Revolutionary Fiber

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 1 Critic Review

unrated

Synopsis

In the tradition of Mark Kurlansky's Cod and Salt, this endlessly revealing book reminds us that the fiber we think of as ordinary is the world's most powerful cash crop, and that it has shaped the destiny of nations. Ranging from its domestication 5,500 years ago to its influence in creating Calvin Klein's empire and the Gap, Stephen Yafa's Cotton gives us an intimate look at the plant that fooled Columbus into thinking he'd reached India, that helped start the Industrial Revolution as well as the American Civil War, and that made at least one bug—the boll weevil—world famous. A sweeping chronicle of ingenuity, greed,  conflict, and opportunism, Cotton offers "a barrage of fascinating information" (Los Angeles Times).


 

About Stephen Yafa

See more books from this Author
Stephen Yafa, a novelist, playwright, video producer, and award-winning screenwriter, has written for Playboy, Rolling Stone, Details, Wine Country Living, and the San Francisco Chronicle.
 
Published June 27, 2006 by Penguin Books. 436 pages
Genres: Business & Economics, History, Professional & Technical, Science & Math, Arts & Photography, Biographies & Memoirs, Computers & Technology. Non-fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for Cotton

Bookmarks Magazine

In the spirit of recent books like Salt and Coal, A novelist and playwright, Yafa examines world history through the prism of a tiny little fiber called cotton.

Jan 23 2008 | Read Full Review of Cotton: The Biography of a Re...

Reader Rating for Cotton
85%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 16 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×