Count Magnus and Other Ghost Stories by M. R. James
The Complete Ghost Stories of M. R. James, Volume 1

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See Reader Rating


The only annotated edition of M. R. James’s writings currently available, Count Magnus and Other Ghost Stories contains the entire first two volumes of James’s ghost stories, Ghost Stories of an Antiquary and More Ghost Stories of an Antiquary. These volumes are both the culmination of the nineteenth-century ghost story tradition and the inspiration for much of the best twentieth-century work in this genre. Included in this collection are such landmark tales as “Count Magnus,” set in the wilds of Sweden; “Number 13,” a distinctive tale about a haunted hotel room; “Casting the Runes,” a richly complex tale of sorcery that served as the basis for the classic horror film Curse of the Demon; and “Oh, Whistle, and I’ll Come to You, My Lad,” one of the most frightening tales in literature. The appendix includes several rare texts, including “A Night in King’s College Chapel,” James’s first known ghost story.

First time in Penguin Classics


About M. R. James

See more books from this Author
Montague Rhodes James (1862–1936) is one of the originators and most influential writers of supernatural fiction. Among his many honors was the Order of Merit, bestowed upon him by King George V in 1930. S. T. Joshi is a widely published writer, biographer, and editor. He has edited three Penguin Classics editions of H. P. Lovecraft’s horror tales, as well as Algernon Blackwood’s Ancient Sorceries and Other Strange Stories and Lord Dunsany’s In the Land of Time and Other Fantasy Tales.
Published October 4, 2005 by Penguin Classic. 324 pages
Genres: Mystery, Thriller & Suspense, Horror, Literature & Fiction. Fiction

Reader Rating for Count Magnus and Other Ghost Stories

An aggregated and normalized score based on 17 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes

Rate this book!

Add Review