Count Magnus and Other Stories by Montague Rhodes James
(The Complete Ghost Stories of an Antiquary)

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews


Montague Rhodes James is considered one of the greatest writers of ghost stories of all time. His story-telling is noted for how it updated the conception of the ghost story from its formal gothic counterpart to the more realistic contemporary settings of the early 20th century. Included in this volume is a collection of James’ most famous ghost stories which include the following: "Canon Alberic's Scrap-Book", "Lost Hearts", "The Mezzotint", "The Ash-Tree", "Number 13", "Count Magnus", "'Oh, Whistle, and I'll Come to You, My Lad'", "The Treasure of Abbot Thomas", "A School Story", "The Rose Garden", "The Tractate Middoth", "Casting the Runes", "The Stalls of Barchester Cathedral", "Martin's Close", and "Mr. Humphreys and His Inheritance".

About Montague Rhodes James

See more books from this Author
M. R. James was born in Goodnestone, Kent, England on August 1, 1862. He was an English mediaeval scholar and provost of King's College, Cambridge (1905-1918) and of Eton College (1918-1936). He is best remembered for his ghost stories which are widely regarded as among the finest in English literature. He began writing his ghost stories as an entertainment for his friends; he would read these stories each year at Christmas to his colleagues at King's College. The earliest of these tales include Canon Alberic's Scrap-book and Lost Hearts, both of which were later collected in his first anthology of supernatural fiction, Ghost Stories of an Antiquary (1904). Perhaps his single greatest story is the profoundly disturbing Oh, Whistle, and I'll Come to You, My Lad (1904). He died on June 12, 1936.
Published June 24, 2010 by 146 pages
Genres: Horror, Literature & Fiction. Fiction

Rate this book!

Add Review