Cover of Snow by Jenny Milchman
A Novel

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 11 Critic Reviews

unrated

Synopsis

WINNER OF THE MARY HIGGINS CLARK AWARD

Jenny Milchman’s Cover of Snow is a remarkable debut, a gripping tale of suspense in the tradition of Gillian Flynn, Chris Bohjalian, and Nancy Pickard.

Waking up one wintry morning in her old farmhouse nestled in the Adirondack Mountains of New York, Nora Hamilton instantly knows that something is wrong. When her fog of sleep clears, she finds her world is suddenly, irretrievably shattered: Her husband, Brendan, has committed suicide.

The first few hours following Nora’s devastating discovery pass for her in a blur of numbness and disbelief. Then, a disturbing awareness slowly settles in: Brendan left no note and gave no indication that he was contemplating taking his own life. Why would a rock-solid police officer with unwavering affection for his wife, job, and quaint hometown suddenly choose to end it all? Having spent a lifetime avoiding hard truths, Nora must now start facing them.

Unraveling her late husband’s final days, Nora searches for an explanation—but finds a bewildering resistance from Brendan’s best friend and partner, his fellow police officers, and his brittle mother. It quickly becomes clear to Nora that she is asking questions no one wants to answer. For beneath the soft cover of snow lies a powerful conspiracy that will stop at nothing to keep its presence unknown . . . and its darkest secrets hidden.

Praise for Cover of Snow
 
“Well-defined characters take us on an emotional roller-coaster ride through the darkest night, with blinding twists and occasionally fatal turns. This is a richly woven story that not only looks at the devastating effects of suicide but also examines life in a small town and explores the complexity of marriage. Fans of Nancy Pickard, Margaret Maron, and C. J. Box will be delighted to find this new author.”—Booklist (starred review)
 
“Milchman reveals an intimate knowledge of the psychology of grief, along with a painterly gift for converting frozen feelings into scenes of a forbidding winter landscape.”—The New York Times
 
“Milchman makes [readers] feel the chill right down to their bones and casts a particularly effective mood in this stylish thriller.”—Kirkus Reviews
 
“Milchman tackles small-town angst where evil can simmer under the surface with a breathless energy and a feel for realistic characters.”—The Seattle Times
 
“The plot unfolds at an excellent clip . . . ultimately rushing headlong to a series of startling revelations.”—San Francisco Journal of Books
 
“Milchman expertly conveys Nora’s grief in a way that will warm hearts even in the dead of a Wedeskyull winter.”—Publishers Weekly (starred review)


From the Hardcover edition.
 

About Jenny Milchman

See more books from this Author
Jenny Milchman lives in New Jersey with her family. Cover of Snow is her first novel.
 
Published January 15, 2013 by Ballantine Books. 338 pages
Genres: Mystery, Thriller & Suspense, Literature & Fiction, Crime. Fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for Cover of Snow

Kirkus Reviews

See more reviews from this publication

Nora awakens one morning to find her bed cold and empty and her husband, a police officer in a small town not too far from New York City, missing.

Oct 11 2012 | Read Full Review of Cover of Snow: A Novel

Publishers Weekly

See more reviews from this publication

When house restorer Nora Hamilton finds that her policeman husband, Brendan, has hanged himself, her image of their idyllic life in Brendan’s Adirondacks hometown of Wedeskyull, N.Y., is shattered in Milchman’s evocative debut.

Oct 29 2012 | Read Full Review of Cover of Snow: A Novel

All About Romance

See more reviews from this publication

In addition, much of the book was about how Nora was learning to leave behind her superficiality, and yet the fact that she seemed to be developing a relationship with Ned Kramer when her husband had been dead mere weeks seems to indicate the opposite.

Feb 04 2013 | Read Full Review of Cover of Snow: A Novel

Book Reporter

Relying on the methodical nature that serves her so well as a restorer of old homes, Nora struggles to understand what happened to her husband --- even as her insular, frigid mountain town is determined to keep its deadly secrets buried.

Jan 15 2013 | Read Full Review of Cover of Snow: A Novel

Book Reporter

It wasn’t so much that Brendan concealed things (a childhood tragedy here, a relationship there), it’s that he simply never talked about anything --- from the reason for his almost total estrangement from his mother to a family member Nora never knew existed.

Jan 17 2013 | Read Full Review of Cover of Snow: A Novel

RT Book Reviews

Search books by title, genre, publication month, publication year, and rating or search by any combination of these options (i.e.

| Read Full Review of Cover of Snow: A Novel

Huntington News

Waking up one wintry morning in her old farmhouse in the Adirondack Mountains of New York, Nora reaches instinctively for the warm body of her policeman husband Brendan, only to discover that he's not in bed.

Jan 16 2013 | Read Full Review of Cover of Snow: A Novel

North Jersey

The first-person account told from Nora's point of view thrusts the narrative full force into horror, sadness and every other emotion Nora experiences as she must start over without Brendan.

Jan 30 2013 | Read Full Review of Cover of Snow: A Novel

The Capital Times

Learning to turn a side of pork into chops, ham and bacon has become an increasingly popular hobby in the Midwest.

Jan 21 2013 | Read Full Review of Cover of Snow: A Novel

http://www.postbulletin.com

The first-person account told from Nora's point of view thrusts the narrative full force into horror, sadness and every other emotion Nora experiences as she must start over without Brendan.

Jan 21 2013 | Read Full Review of Cover of Snow: A Novel

Cassandra Campbell's narration is drenched in melancholy as she portrays a police widow searching for answers after her husband's suicide; listeners not put off by the story's inconsistencies may enjoy her reading. The plot is illogical, the characters flat, and almost no incident is mentioned wi...

Jun 01 2013 | Read Full Review of Cover of Snow: A Novel

Reader Rating for Cover of Snow
68%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 441 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×