Crossing the Lines by Sulari Gentill

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 1 Critic Review

In this intriguing and unusual tale, a stunning departure from Gentill’s period mysteries (Give the Devil His Due, 2015, etc.), the question is not whodunit but who’s real and who’s a figment of someone’s vivid imagination.
-Kirkus

Synopsis

"As one for whom certain story lines and characters have become as real as life itself, Crossing the Lines was a pure delight, a swift yet psychologically complex read, cleverly conceived and brilliantly executed." -Dean Koontz, New York Times Bestselling author




Sulari Gentill, author of the 1930s Rowland Sinclair Mysteries, jumps to the post-modern in Crossing the Lines.


A successful writer, Madeleine, creates a character, Edward, and begins to imagine his life. He, too, is an author. Edward is in love with a woman, Willow, who's married to a man Edward loathes, and who loathes him, but he and Willow stay close friends. She's an artist. As Madeleine develops the plot, Edward attends a gallery show where a scummy critic is flung down a flight of fire stairs...murdered. Madeleine, still stressed from her miscarriages and grieving her inability to have a child, grows more and more enamored of Edward, spending more and more time with him and the progress of the investigation and less with her physician husband, Hugh, who in turn may be developing secrets of his own.


As Madeline engages more with Edward, he begins to engage back. A crisis comes when Madeleine chooses the killer in Edward?s story and Hugh begins to question her immersion in her novel. Yet Crossing the Lines is not about collecting clues and solving crimes. Rather it?s about the process of creation, a gradual undermining of the authority of the author as the act of writing spirals away and merges with the story being told, a self-referring narrative crossing over boundaries leaving in question who to trust, and who and what is true.


For fans of Paul Auster, Jesse Kellerman, Vera Caspary?s Laura, Martin Amis, Haruki Murakami, Marisha Pessl

 

About Sulari Gentill

See more books from this Author
Sulari Gentill studied astrophysics and then law, and later tossed in her law career to write books instead of contacts. Multi-talented, she also paints, although she will tell you she only paints well enough to know that she should write. Also, Sulari grows French truffles on her farm near the Snowy Mountains, NSW. Sulari was recently offered a Varuna Fellowship. She was commended in the Fellowship of Australian Writers 2008 Jim Hamilton Award and was long-listed for the Hachette/WLD writers Centre Australian Manuscript Development Program for fiction writers. Sulari is the author of the young adult adventure series Chasing Odysseus.
 
Published August 1, 2017 by Poisoned Pen Press. 277 pages
Genres: Mystery, Thriller & Suspense, Literature & Fiction. Fiction
Add Critic Review

Critic reviews for Crossing the Lines
All: 1 | Positive: 1 | Negative: 0

Kirkus

Good
on Jun 06 2017

In this intriguing and unusual tale, a stunning departure from Gentill’s period mysteries (Give the Devil His Due, 2015, etc.), the question is not whodunit but who’s real and who’s a figment of someone’s vivid imagination.

Read Full Review of Crossing the Lines | See more reviews from Kirkus
×