Curandero by Jonah Becker

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews


Movie Screenplay adapted from "Curandero".

Once the young cowboy messes with the Mexican drug cartels, then only the mystic power of the desert shaman can save him.

Feature film screenplay based upon the book "Curandero" by Jonah Becker.

This is a classic “coming of age” story, set in rural America, in the present day, against a backdrop of violent border drug wars along the Rio Grande. Young Texan, Quaid Hudson and his Ma share their ranch with an enigmatic old desert shaman, Achai. Their quiet rural lives are changed forever by a violent brush with the Mexican drug cartels, a brush that Quaid naively engineers, against his mentor, Achai’s, advice.

Death, betrayal and mistrust are suddenly thrust upon Quaid, as is his first love interest. He evades the sinister attentions of the Sinoloa drug cartel the first time around, but they are not finished with Quaid, or Achai or any living thing close to the two.

In a type of “butterfly effect”, Quaid’s stupid meddling with the cartel’s activities eventually unleashes a wave of revenge and retribution, turning evil back on itself. This is a story at once gritty, sometimes violent, occasionally nostalgic for a simpler time, fast-paced and complex in plot, but at its core also romantic in its view of men and women and of good and evil.

Now Scroll Up and Click the "Look Inside" tab on the top left of the page to start reading

If your screenplay copy does not display correctly for your Kindle, then please contact the author for a copy in an alternative format.

About Jonah Becker

See more books from this Author
Romance author Jayne Ann Krentz was born in Borrego Springs, California on March 28, 1948. She received a B.A. in history from the University of California at Santa Cruz and a Masters degree in library science from San Jose State University. Before becoming a full-time author, she worked as a librarian. Her novels include: Truth or Dare, All Night Long, and Copper Beach. She has written under seven different names: Jayne Bentley, Amanda Glass, Stephanie James, Jayne Taylor, Jayne Castle, Amanda Quick and Jayne Ann Krentz. Her first book, Gentle Pirate, was published in 1980 under the name Jayne Castle. She currently uses only three personas to represent her three specialties. She uses the name Jayne Ann Krentz for her contemporary pieces, Amanda Quick for her historical fiction pieces, and Jayne Castle for her futuristic pieces. She has received numerous awards for her work including the 1995 Romantic Times Reviewer's Choice Award for Trust Me, the 2004 Romantic Times Reviewer's Choice Award for Falling Awake, the Romantic Times Career Achievement Award, the Romantic Times Jane Austen Award, and the Susan Koppelman Award for Feminist Studies for Dangerous Men and Adventurous Women: Romance Writers on the Appeal of the Romance.
Published April 14, 2013 by Leguaan. 103 pages
Genres: Mystery, Thriller & Suspense, Westerns, Literature & Fiction. Fiction

Rate this book!

Add Review