Daisy Bates in the Desert by Julia Blackburn

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 4 Critic Reviews

unrated

Synopsis

In 1913, at the age of 54, Daisy Bates went to live in the deserts of South Australia. Brilliantly reviewed, astonishingly original, this "eloquent and illuminating portrait of an extraordinary woman" (New York Times Book Review) tells a fascinating, true story in the tradition of Isak Dinesen and Barry Lopez.
 

About Julia Blackburn

See more books from this Author
Julia Blackburn has written five books of non-fiction - Charles Waterton, The Emperor's Last Island, Daisy Bates in the Desert, Old Man Goya and With Billie - a family memoir, The Three of Us, which won the 2009 J. R. Ackerley Award, and two novels, The Book of Colour and The Leper's Companions, both of which were shortlisted for the Orange Prize. She is the author of seventeen short stories specially commisioned by BBC Radio, a selection of which were published in My Animals and Other Family, and four radio plays, including The Spellbound Horses, which is due to be broadcast in 2011.
 
Published October 10, 2012 by Vintage. 240 pages
Genres: Biographies & Memoirs, History, Political & Social Sciences, War, Education & Reference, Travel, Literature & Fiction. Non-fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for Daisy Bates in the Desert

Kirkus Reviews

See more reviews from this publication

Blackburn (The Emperor's Last Stand, not reviewed) attempts various literary and research stratagems--chief among them being her admitting that it is impossible to know much with certainty: ``Daisy Bates was a liar, of that I am sure, but the extent and the exact details of her lies remain a diff...

| Read Full Review of Daisy Bates in the Desert

Publishers Weekly

See more reviews from this publication

Blackburn ( The Emperor's Last Island ) here presents a biography of the extraordinarily determined and independent Daisy Bates who, in 1913, at age 54, removed herself from England to Australia's red desert outback as a self-appointed champion of the Aborigines.

| Read Full Review of Daisy Bates in the Desert

Spirituality & Practice

Reviews Philosophy About Our Affiliates Books & Audios Recently Reviewed In 1921 at age 52, Daisy Bates, an Irish-born governess who had come to Australia in 1883, moved into a tent in the desert to live among the Aboriginals.

| Read Full Review of Daisy Bates in the Desert

Smithsonian

Daisy Bates in the Desert: A Woman's Life Among the AboriginesJulia Blackburn .

| Read Full Review of Daisy Bates in the Desert

Reader Rating for Daisy Bates in the Desert
42%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 11 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×