Dani's Story by Diane Lierow
A Journey from Neglect to Love

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See Reader Rating


The story that captivated a nation?how a horribly neglected little girl was rescued by her loving adoptive parents

In July 2005, a six-year-old girl named Danielle was removed from her Florida home after authorities found her living in bug-ridden squalor, subjected to horrific neglect and so damaged by her own mother that recovery seemed hopeless. But hope was waiting for Dani?and help. In October 2007, Bernie and Diane Lierow, a hard-working couple with five boys of their own, adopted her and utterly transformed her life. This book tells the moving story of how the Lierows rescued Dani and helped her recover to the point where she can not only communicate, something once thought impossible, but can say of herself, "I pretty."Dani's story was featured on Oprah and the subject of a Pulitzer Prize-winning article published by the St. Petersburg TimesThe Lierows describe their struggle to adopt Dani, how they bonded with her and made a home for her, how they satisfied her craving for contact and stimuli, how Dani began to overcome her severe learning disabilities, how she learned she no longer had to steal food, and how their son Willie may be the greatest brother everFor readers who enjoyed Mistaken Identity: Two Families, One Survivor, Unwavering Hope; Hope's Boy; and Sickened: The True Story of a Lost Childhood

Charting a perilous journey from hardship to hope, a new family, and a second chance at life, Dani's Story is a book you cannot put down and will never forget.


About Diane Lierow

See more books from this Author
DIANE and BERNIE LIEROW are parents to six children, including Dani, as well as foster parents. Their story won a Pulitzer Prize for the St. Petersburg Times and was featured on The Oprah Winfrey Show. They live on a farm in Tennessee with miniature horses, goats, chickens, and Great Pyrenees dogs.KAY WEST is a veteran print media journalist who has also written three books.
Published May 18, 2011 by Wiley. 277 pages
Genres: Biographies & Memoirs, Education & Reference, Parenting & Relationships. Non-fiction

Reader Rating for Dani's Story

An aggregated and normalized score based on 17 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes

Rate this book!

Add Review