Dark Fantasy by David H Fears
(A Mike Angel Mystery)

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

Synopsis

In late 1966, the world’s richest man, Howard Hughes, took occupancy of the top two floors of the Desert Inn on the Strip in Las Vegas. After his time was up he refused to vacate the space, and wound up buying the Inn for thirteen million dollars from the Mob.

Earlier that year Mike and Rick were called to an empty apartment where the body of a world-famous glamour model, a twin, was posed with flowers. The scene tipped Mike’s equilibrium, and when the surviving twin hit town he struggled with his darker fantasies.

Mike crosses the line when he breaks into a gallery’s back office and dark room to discover a strange pornographic film involving the dead twin and an underage boy. After viewing the film with Rick and Molly, Mike is persuaded to turn it over to the police, and take the heat for his actions. The film mysteriously disappears from the police evidence locker.

Hired by the surviving twin, also a model who makes Molly a bit jealous, the case leads Mike to Las Vegas, connections to local racketeer Big Jim Elkins, L.A. mobster Mickey Cohen, and then to Howard Hughes in Las Vegas. Can Mike gain entrance into the Hughes penthouse and verify Hughes’ possession of the porno film involving the dead twin? He’ll need an ingenious plan, which is supplied by a sexy Swedish blonde he meets at the newly opened Caesar’s Palace. If the plan to get in works, can he escape alive and get out of town? He cannot trust the Vegas authorities or even the FBI, who have been surveilling Hughes for bigger issues and offer no help.

Another complex novel, this set in Portland and Las Vegas in 1966, Dark Fantasy is the 7th in the Mike Angel Series, and follows Dark Moon. Just over 72,000 words. Warning! This is a Noir Novel complete with sarcastic humor back when PC wasn't eroding logic. If you find yourself laughing occasionally, that's okay. It's not a comedy.
 

About David H Fears

See more books from this Author
David H Fears has written over 100 short stories, published 2 collections, and has had a long academic and personal love affair with all things Mark Twain. He is the author of Mark Twain Day By Day in 4 volumes averaging 1200 pages each, 3 of which have been published. This work has received rave reviews by the top Twain scholars. He has lectured at Elmira College (Sept. of 2009) on the making of the work and Twain's first meeting with Rudyard Kipling in 1889. He enjoys mysteries, especially in the vein of Raymond Chandler, Mickey Spillane, and Dashiell Hammett. For a season or two he joined the Private Eye Writers of America, and has benefited from the study of over 100 books in the genre. For several years David taught writing at two career colleges. He believes "any one can write," and espouses the "expressionist" theories of Peter Elbow. The greatest enjoyment in writing comes from his own detective novels, with the too-young PI, Mike Angel, "Dark Series," now six in number (as of end of 2011). David has enjoyed 3 successful careers in business, including his own wholesale operation for 17 years. He lives with his wife of 30 years, and his two adorable cats, including his calico "editor" Sophie, who loves to be either on top of his desk papers while he writes or draped across his arm. With a non-stop teasing sense of humor, and 3 grown daughters, David sees life as full, and understands the ups and downs and what drama is all about.
 
Published March 1, 2012 by Horizon Micro Publishing, LLC. 192 pages
Genres: History, Mystery, Thriller & Suspense, Literature & Fiction. Fiction

Rate this book!

Add Review