Dark Lake by David H. Fears
(A Mike Angel Mystery)

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See Reader Rating

Synopsis

Here is the steamiest of the Mike Angel Mystery series! Angel, a 32-year-old private eye in Chicago, rescues a mysterious bound beauty from a firebombing, which begins a chase into a white-slaver and murder for profit ring that lures conventioneers into sex shows and dumps victims into Lake Michigan. Mike barely controls his rage after his office love, Molly, is abducted, drugged and flown to New Orleans by a prostituted and redheaded leader of the ring. His volunteer partner, Rick Anthony, a retired NYC detective and partner of Mike's late father, provides a wise and analytical balance to Mike's headlong approach. In New Orleans Mike penetrates the white-slaver and prostitution markets, all the while fearing Molly's memory has been drug erased, trained to be a queen-prototype in the flesh markets. The ending twist reveals the mastermind behind the international crime ring. Dark Lake is the second Mike Angel novel, and is set in 1961. Steamy hot scenes! The 2nd in the Mike Angel Mystery series of historical, erotic novels. Set in Chicago in 1961.
Warning! This is a Noir Novel complete with sarcastic humor back when PC wasn't eroding logic. If you find yourself laughing occasionally, that's okay. It's not a comedy.
 

About David H. Fears

See more books from this Author
David H Fears has written over 100 short stories, published 2 collections, and has had a long academic and personal love affair with all things Mark Twain. He is the author of Mark Twain Day By Day in 4 volumes averaging 1200 pages each, 3 of which have been published. This work has received rave reviews by the top Twain scholars. He has lectured at Elmira College (Sept. of 2009) on the making of the work and Twain's first meeting with Rudyard Kipling in 1889. He enjoys mysteries, especially in the vein of Raymond Chandler, Mickey Spillane, and Dashiell Hammett. For a season or two he joined the Private Eye Writers of America, and has benefited from the study of over 100 books in the genre. For several years David taught writing at two career colleges. He believes "any one can write," and espouses the "expressionist" theories of Peter Elbow. The greatest enjoyment in writing comes from his own detective novels, with the too-young PI, Mike Angel, "Dark Series," now six in number (as of end of 2011). David has enjoyed 3 successful careers in business, including his own wholesale operation for 17 years. He lives with his wife of 30 years, and his two adorable cats, including his calico "editor" Sophie, who loves to be either on top of his desk papers while he writes or draped across his arm. With a non-stop teasing sense of humor, and 3 grown daughters, David sees life as full, and understands the ups and downs and what drama is all about.
 
Published January 13, 2011 269 pages
Genres: Erotica, Literature & Fiction, Mystery, Thriller & Suspense, History. Fiction

Reader Rating for Dark Lake
92%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 7 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review