Darwen Arkwright and the Insidious Bleck by A. J. Hartley

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 1 Critic Review



The second book in the quirky and enchanting Darwen Arkwright series, perfect for fans of The Mysterious Benedict Society!


Eleven-year-old Darwen Arkwright's life changed forever when he first set foot in Silbrica, the wondrous and magical world beyond the mirror. Now, he and his friends Rich and Alexandra--the Peregrine Pact--must journey to Costa Rica to save a boy who's been stolen by the Insidious Bleck, a giant tentacled creature that leaves destruction in its wake. But what at first seemed to be a single kidnapping turns out to be an elaborate conspiracy that threatens the very future of our world. And this time, old allies can't be trusted, and the danger runs deeper than Darwen could have ever imagined.

Kirkus Reviews called the first Darwen book "Brilliant!" and we think you'll agree. It's a completely modern take on the kind of fantasy that has delighted middle-grade readers for generations.

About A. J. Hartley

See more books from this Author
AJ Hartley (www.AJHartley.net) is the author of several bestselling adult novels and has been published in over twenty-seven languages worldwide. He lives with his wife and son in Charlotte, North Carolina. The Darwen Arkwright series is his first for children.
Published November 21, 2012 by Razorbill. 449 pages
Genres: Science Fiction & Fantasy, Action & Adventure, Children's Books. Fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for Darwen Arkwright and the Insidious Bleck

Kirkus Reviews

See more reviews from this publication

Eleven-year-old Darwen Arkwright, recently transplanted to Atlanta from England, found out last semester that he’s a mirroculist: He can travel to the fantastical (and dangerous) world of Silbrica through mirrors.

Sep 26 2012 | Read Full Review of Darwen Arkwright and the Insi...

Rate this book!

Add Review