Dear Mrs. Bird by AJ Pearce
A Novel

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 2 Critic Reviews

“Dear Mrs. Bird” is a delightful read — funny and poignant, yet with horrific descriptions of bombed-out London. It is about the home front during war, yes, but even more it is about the strength of women, the importance of friendship and the toll of stoicism.
-Star Tribune

Synopsis

“A marvelous treat. Charming and delightful.” —Nina Stibbe, author of Love, Nina

An irresistible debut set in London during World War II about an adventurous young woman who becomes a secret advice columnist— a warm, funny, and enormously moving story for fans of The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society and Lilac Girls.

London, 1940. Emmeline Lake is Doing Her Bit for the war effort, volunteering as a telephone operator with the Auxiliary Fire Services. When Emmy sees an advertisement for a job at the London Evening Chronicle, her dreams of becoming a Lady War Correspondent suddenly seem achievable. But the job turns out to be working as a typist for the fierce and renowned advice columnist, Henrietta Bird. Emmy is disappointed, but gamely bucks up and buckles down.

Mrs. Bird is very clear: letters containing any Unpleasantness must go straight in the bin. But when Emmy reads poignant notes from women who may have Gone Too Far with the wrong men, or who can’t bear to let their children be evacuated, she is unable to resist responding. As the German planes make their nightly raids, and London picks up the smoldering pieces each morning, Emmy secretly begins to write back to the readers who have poured out their troubles.

Prepare to fall head over heels for Emmy and her best friend, Bunty, who are gutsy and spirited, even in the face of a terrible blow. The irrepressible Emmy keeps writing letters in this hilarious and enormously moving tale of friendship, the kindness of strangers, and ordinary people in extraordinary times.
 

About AJ Pearce

See more books from this Author
 
Published July 3, 2018 by Scribner. 288 pages
Genres: History, Literature & Fiction, Humor & Entertainment. Fiction
Add Critic Review

Critic reviews for Dear Mrs. Bird
All: 2 | Positive: 1 | Negative: 1

Kirkus

Above average
on Apr 16 2018

Although the jauntiness and feel-good tone can grate on occasion, especially during the farcical wrap-up, this is a readable, well-intentioned, very English tribute to the women of the homefront.

Read Full Review of Dear Mrs. Bird: A Novel | See more reviews from Kirkus

Star Tribune

Good
Reviewed by Laurie Hertzel on Jun 29 2018

“Dear Mrs. Bird” is a delightful read — funny and poignant, yet with horrific descriptions of bombed-out London. It is about the home front during war, yes, but even more it is about the strength of women, the importance of friendship and the toll of stoicism.

Read Full Review of Dear Mrs. Bird: A Novel | See more reviews from Star Tribune

Reader Rating for Dear Mrs. Bird
90%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 8 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×