Death and the Lit Chick by G.M. Malliet
(A St. Just Mystery)

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 4 Critic Reviews

unrated

Synopsis

BOOK 2 IN THE AGATHA AWARD-WINNING SERIES

“[In] her superior second cozy, Malliet's satirical take on the mystery scene is spot-on.”
Publishers Weekly (starred review)

"Malliet excels at stylish writing very reminiscent of the golden age of British mysteries.  A real find for old-school mystery fans."
Booklist (starred review)

“An absolutely delicious skewering of the world of mystery publishing and its none-too-savory denizens, Death and the Lit Chick is even wittier and more skillfully constructed than her Agatha Award-winning Death of a Cozy Writer.”
Denver Post

Death and the Lit Chick is a finalist for the Anthony Award!

Cold-blooded murder is, like, totally un-cool

As the wildly successful darling of the publishing industry, chick lit mystery writer Kimberlee Kalder is the guest of honor at an exclusive writers' conference at Dalmorton Castle in Scotland. But jealousy and resentment are soon replaced with shock when Kimberlee is found dead at the bottom of the castle's bottle dungeon.

Who didn't want to see prima donna Kimberlee brutally extinguished like one of her ill-fated characters? It's up to Detective Chief Inspector St. Just to track down the true killer in a castle full of cagey mystery connoisseurs who live and breathe malicious murder and artful alibis . . .

 

Acclaim for the bestselling Death of a Cozy Writer, the first St. Just Mystery:

"[A] delightful homage to the great novels of Britain's Golden Age of Mysteries."
—Nancy Pearl, NPR commentator and author of Book Lust

Death of a Cozy Writer won the 2008 Agatha Award for Best First Novel and a silver medal for the IPPY awards in the category of Mystery/Suspense/Thriller.

Malliet's first novel Death of a Cozy Writer was chosen by Kirkus Reviews as a Best Book of 2008, nominated for a Left Coast Crime award (the Hawaii Five-O for best police procedural), short-listed for the Macavity Award for Best First Mystery, nominated for the Anthony Award for Best First Novel and was a finalist for the David G. Sasher, Sr. Award for Best Mystery Novel.

 

 

 

 

 

About G.M. Malliet

See more books from this Author
Winner of the Agatha Award for Death of a Cozy Writer, G. M. MALLIET attended Oxford University and holds a graduate degree from the University of Cambridge. She lives in Alexandria, Virginia.
 
Published April 8, 2009 by MIDNIGHT INK. 307 pages
Genres: Mystery, Thriller & Suspense, Literature & Fiction, Crime. Fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for Death and the Lit Chick

Kirkus Reviews

See more reviews from this publication

Detective Chief Inspector St. Just finds himself with a pretty puzzle when a father and son are murdered in a snow-shrouded Cambridgeshire manor house.

| Read Full Review of Death and the Lit Chick (A St...

Kirkus Reviews

See more reviews from this publication

When up-and-comer Kimberlee Kalder is dispatched at a writers’ conference at Scotland’s Dalmorton Castle, the question is less who killed her than who didn’t.

| Read Full Review of Death and the Lit Chick (A St...

Reviewing the Evidence

Unlike many of the more prestigious colleges of the university with long donor lists and famous graduates, St Michael's is a lesser known college that's fallen on hard times.

| Read Full Review of Death and the Lit Chick (A St...

Reviewing the Evidence

Malliet specializes in the classic English mystery in the vein of Christie and Babson: a murderous comedy of manners centered on a specific event.

| Read Full Review of Death and the Lit Chick (A St...

Reader Rating for Death and the Lit Chick
77%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 58 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×