Death and the Maiden by Frank Tallis
A Max Liebermann Mystery (Liebermann Papers: Max Liebermann Mystery)

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 6 Critic Reviews



Frank Tallis, acclaimed author of the Edgar Award–nominated Vienna Secrets, returns with a new and masterfully woven tale full of deceit, love, and rich mystery. Set in fin de siècle Vienna, it’s perfect for fans of Boris Akunin, Alan Furst, and David Liss.
Ida Rosenkranz is top diva at the Vienna Opera, but she’s gone silent for good after an apparent laudanum overdose. Learning of her professional rivalries and her scandalous affairs with older men, Detective Inspector Oskar Rheinhardt and Dr. Max Liebermann suspect foul play instead. Their investigation leads them into dark and dangerous conflicts with Gustav Mahler, the opera’s imperious director, who is himself the target of a poison pen campaign, and Karl Lueger, Vienna’s powerful and anti-Semitic mayor. As the peril escalates, Rheinhardt grows further into his role as family man, while Liebermann finds himself at odds with his inamorata, Amelia, who’s loosening both her corset and her tongue in the new feminist movement.
“[A] captivating historical series.”—The New York Times Book Review
“[A] riveting read . . . with well researched and wonderfully imagined period detail.”—The Guardian (U.K.), on Vienna Twilight
“Chock-full of tantalizing elements.”—The Austin Chronicle, on Vienna Secrets
“Engrossing . . . immensely satisfying.”—The Boston Globe, on Fatal Lies

About Frank Tallis

See more books from this Author
Frank Tallis is a clinical psychologist and critically acclaimed author of the Liebermann series—A Death in Vienna, Vienna Blood, Fatal Lies, Vienna Secrets, Vienna Twilight, and Death and the Maiden—which has been translated into fourteen languages and optioned for television. Vienna Secrets and Vienna Twilight were both nominated for Edgar Awards. Tallis has received a Writers’ Award from the Arts Council England and the New London Writers Award from the London Arts Board. He has held lecturing posts in clinical psychology and neuroscience at the Institute of Psychiatry and King’s College London.
Published October 9, 2012 by Random House. 386 pages
Genres: History, Mystery, Thriller & Suspense, Literature & Fiction. Fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for Death and the Maiden

Kirkus Reviews

See more reviews from this publication

The victim, Ida Rosenkrantz, who recently supplanted a bitter Amsel as the opera's foremost soprano, ingested a deadly quantity of laudanum, leading to a possible verdict of suicide.

Sep 13 2012 | Read Full Review of Death and the Maiden: A Max L...

Publishers Weekly

See more reviews from this publication

A heated political rivalry between Emperor Franz Josef and Vienna’s anti-Semitic mayor, Karl Lueger, serves as the intriguing backdrop for Tallis’s superb sixth historical featuring Dr. Max Liebermann

Aug 06 2012 | Read Full Review of Death and the Maiden: A Max L...

The Wall Street Journal

See more reviews from this publication

Mr. Higashino's uneasy duo consists of the capable but prosaic police detective Kusanagi and his occasional civilian adviser, physics professor Yukawa—or "Detective Galileo," as he is known.

Oct 19 2012 | Read Full Review of Death and the Maiden: A Max L...

The Bookbag

Summary: A fairly plodding detective tale set in Vienna in the last days of the Hapsburg empire.

Sep 03 2011 | Read Full Review of Death and the Maiden: A Max L...

Reviewing the Evidence

In this novel the focus is not – as one might have anticipated from the title – on Schubert, but on Gustav Mahler, then director of the Vienna Opera, and a man with the temerity to demand that members of his orchestra actually play the notes written for them.

| Read Full Review of Death and the Maiden: A Max L...

Mysterious Reviews

Review: Viennese psychoanalyst Max Liebermann and his friend and collaborator Detective Inspector Oskar Rheinhardt work together to investigate the death of a celebrated soprano opera singer in Death and the Maiden, the fifth mystery in this historical series by Frank Tallis.

| Read Full Review of Death and the Maiden: A Max L...

Reader Rating for Death and the Maiden

An aggregated and normalized score based on 33 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes

Rate this book!

Add Review