Dinosaur Boy Saves Mars by Cory Putman Oakes

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 1 Critic Review

...again sets up her white, fifth-grade protagonist to display a thoroughly admirable willingness to make peace by shouldering responsibilities that others will not. Deft stimulus for both brains and funny bones.
-Kirkus

Synopsis

Dinosaurs, Martians, and mystery, oh my! Fans of Michael Buckley's NERDS and Dan Gutman's Genius Files will love this hilarious, action-packed adventure series. What would life be like if you were part dinosaur?

When you're part Stegosaurus life can be a little crazy. (Yes, sleeping with plates is weird. No, dino-human hybrids do not have second brains in their butts.) But Sawyer's life is normal(ish) — until he's yanked aboard a UFO and sent on a mission to Mars.

Sawyer, Elliot and Sylvie travel to Mars to find her missing father, but they find even bigger trouble. Mars is trying to kick Pluto out of the solar system. And the fate of both planets will be decided by the upcoming Pluto VS Mars soccer match. Of course.

It's an intergalactic mess, and only Sawyer can save Mars, defend Pluto and protect the galaxy...

"You thought your day at school was rough. Try being half dinosaur. Dinosaur Boy is a hilarious adventure and as sharp as a stegosaurus's tail, with twists and turns on every page...fantastic." —Nathan Bransford, author of Jacob Wonderbar and the Cosmic Space Kapow

"Funny, fast-paced, and filled with surprising twists, Dinosaur Boy is a charming story about friendship, bullies, dinosaurs,and learning to live with being very, very different. The ending will have boys and girls roaring for more of Sawyer's adventures, and possibly wishing for their very own dinosaur genes!" —Nikki Loftin, author of The Sinister Sweetness of Splendid Academy and Nightingale's Nest

 

About Cory Putman Oakes

See more books from this Author
CORY PUTMAN OAKES was born in Switzerland and grew up in California. She graduated from UCLA and Cornell Law. Since then, she's been an associate at a big law firm, taught at Texas State University, and written several books. Cory lives in Austin, Texas, with husband Mark and daughter, Sophia. Visit Cory's website at www.corypoakes.com.
 
Published February 2, 2016 by Sourcebooks Jabberwocky. 226 pages
Genres: Humor & Entertainment, Science Fiction & Fantasy, Children's Books, Literature & Fiction, Nature & Wildlife, Action & Adventure. Fiction
Add Critic Review

Critic reviews for Dinosaur Boy Saves Mars
All: 1 | Positive: 1 | Negative: 0

Kirkus

Good
on Nov 03 2015

...again sets up her white, fifth-grade protagonist to display a thoroughly admirable willingness to make peace by shouldering responsibilities that others will not. Deft stimulus for both brains and funny bones.

Read Full Review of Dinosaur Boy Saves Mars | See more reviews from Kirkus

Reader Rating for Dinosaur Boy Saves Mars
92%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 7 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×