Discretion by Allison Leotta
A Novel

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 11 Critic Reviews

unrated

Synopsis

For fans of Lisa Scottoline and Law and Order: SVU, former federal sex-crimes prosecutor Allison Leotta’s novel explores the intersection of sex and power as Anna Curtis investigates the murder of one of DC’s highest-paid escorts.

When a beautiful young woman plummets to her death from the balcony of the U.S. Capitol, Assistant U.S. Attorney Anna Curtis is summoned to the scene. The evidence points to a sexual assault and murder. The victim is one of the city’s highest-paid escorts. And the balcony belongs to Washington, D.C.’s sole representative to Congress, the most powerful figure in city politics.

The Congressman proclaims his innocence, but he’s in the middle of a tough primary fight, and the scandal could cost him the election. For Anna, the high-profile case is an opportunity. But as the political stakes rise, she realizes that a single mistake could end her career.

At the same time, her budding romance with Jack Bailey, the chief homicide prosecutor, is at a crossroads. Determined to gain respect in the office, Anna wants to keep their relationship under wraps. But the mounting pressure and media attention that come with the office’s most important case will inevitably expose their relationship—if it doesn’t destroy it first.

The investigation leads Anna to Discretion, a high-end escort service that caters to D.C.’s elite. But with each break in the case, the mystery deepens. And the further Anna ventures into D.C.’s red-light underworld, the larger the target on her own back.

From the secret social clubs where Washington’s most powerful men escape from public view to the asphalt “track” where the city’s most vulnerable women work the streets, Discretion is a gripping exploration of sex, power, and the secrets we all keep.
 

About Allison Leotta

See more books from this Author
Allison Leotta was a federal sex-crimes prosecutor in Washington, DC, for twelve years. In 2011, she left the Justice Department to pursue writing full time. She is the acclaimed author of Law of Attraction and the upcoming Speak of the Devil, and founder of the award-winning blog, The Prime-Time Crime Review. Leotta lives with her husband, Michael, and their two sons outside of Washington, DC. Visit her online at AllisonLeotta.com.
 
Published July 3, 2012 by Touchstone. 353 pages
Genres: Mystery, Thriller & Suspense, Literature & Fiction, Political & Social Sciences, Romance, Crime, Action & Adventure. Fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for Discretion

Kirkus Reviews

See more reviews from this publication

Jack requests Anna’s assistance and soon she, along with feisty and somewhat combative FBI agent Samantha Randazzo, is hot on the trail of the city’s top madam, who operates a high-priced and very hush-hush escort agency called Discretion.

Jul 03 2012 | Read Full Review of Discretion: A Novel

Publishers Weekly

See more reviews from this publication

By creating a covert account on TrickAdviser.com, an escort resource Web site, Anna learns that the victim was “the most expensive call girl in D.C.” The high-profile case threatens to expose Anna’s discreet relationship with her office’s head of homicide, widower Jack Bailey.

May 14 2012 | Read Full Review of Discretion: A Novel

Examiner

There will be another story with Anna and Jack, and probably Samantha, too.

Jul 16 2012 | Read Full Review of Discretion: A Novel

Examiner

Perhaps it’s because it’s a sequel to author Allison Leotta’s “Law of Attraction”, or perhaps it’s because it’s supposed to initially be somewhat mysterious, but the character development is profusely lacking in the beginning of the book.

Jul 14 2012 | Read Full Review of Discretion: A Novel

Examiner

The switch in perspectives in nearly every chapter too allows readers to see the story from every angle without the story losing the tension or edge -- with one exception, as one character really hints at who the real killer is.

Jul 10 2012 | Read Full Review of Discretion: A Novel

New York Journal of Books

See more reviews from this publication

“Discretion is intriguing, . . . leaves you wondering if the book is truly fiction—or not.”

Jul 03 2012 | Read Full Review of Discretion: A Novel

Reviewing the Evidence

Another way her experience shows is the very detailed way the case is worked.

| Read Full Review of Discretion: A Novel

Look At OKC

In “Discretion” (Touchstone Books, $25), by Allison Leotta, a man and woman are struggling on the third-floor balcony of a very private office in the U.S. Capitol.

Jan 06 2013 | Read Full Review of Discretion: A Novel

BellaOnline

Not only that, but she writes in a way that leads the reader into the depth of the story bringing the characters to life and the situations they find themselves in as real as life itself.

| Read Full Review of Discretion: A Novel

Lincoln Journal Star

Thank you for reading and relying on journalstar.com for your news and information.

Nov 18 2012 | Read Full Review of Discretion: A Novel

Mysterious Reviews

Review: Assistant US Attorney Anna Curtis, a prosecutor in the Sex Crimes and Domestic Violence division, is called to the scene of the death of an woman, who has fallen from a balcony.

| Read Full Review of Discretion: A Novel

Reader Rating for Discretion
85%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 129 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×